Resilience is the Key to Change

Noreen Huni, the founding Executive Director and CEO of the Non-Profit organization REPSSI (Regional Psychosocial Support Initiative) is working to ensure that mental and psychosocial wellbeing for girls, boys and youth becomes standard in East and Southern Africa.  REPSSI achieves this by facilitating the mainstreaming of psychosocial support (PSS) into services and programs for children and youth through partnering with civil society and government.

REPSSI focuses on the mental and psychosocial wellbeing of girls, boys, and youth, specifically their happiness, hope and dignity.
In situations of poverty, illness and violence, which are rampant in East and Southern Africa, support often focuses on material and physical needs instead of psychosocial support. But it is through psychosocial support that children and youth become more resilient, which is key for every child to achieve its full potential. Current REPSSI activities are committed towards adolescents and youth, where HIV burden is greatest. Since Early Childhood Development (ECD), however, is building the basis for future social and edcuational outcomes, REPSSI wants to facilitate mainstreaming psychosocial support into ECD programs. REPSSI operates five fully fledged offices in South Africa, Mozambique, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe, and it has a legal presence in a further eight countries.

Noreen Huni, the founding Executive Director and CEO of REPSSI receives one of ten 2018 Klaus J. Jacobs Awards for social innovation and engagement. With the award money of CHF 100,000 Noreen Huni plans to perform evidence-based advocacy for ECD and strengthening the ECD capacity in two countries where REPSSI currently works.

Noreen Huni, Founder and CEO of REPSSI.

«Children are core to every society’s continued existence. »

 

 

REPSSI works on three different levels to achieve change and include psychosocial support in all programs: advocacy on the global, national, and regional level to have governments take action and integrate psychosocial support into social services, education policies and plans; generate evidence and knowledge about the importance of psychosocial support; and intervention programs such as the Teachers Diploma in Psychosocial Care, Support and Protection. This program has been piloted in Zambia, evaluated, shown to be effective and then adapted for other countries.

In 2018, the Jacobs Foundation bestows 10 awards to social innovators and change makers in the field of child and youth development. Each award will come with an amount of CHF 100’000. The recipients provide solutions for positive child and youth development at low cost, which are sustainable and can be easily implemented on the spot. What the ten awardees have in common is their wish for social change and their restless personal social engagement. They are beyond talking – they act.

Ohne Resilienz kein Wandel

Noreen Huni, Gründerin und CEO der Non-Profit-Organisation REPSSI (Regional Psychosocial Support Initiative), engagiert sich für das mentale und psychosoziale Wohlergehen von Kindern und Jugendlichen im südlichen Afrika und in Ostafrika. So setzt sich die Organisation dafür ein, dass psychosoziale Betreuung standardmässig in Angebote und Programme für Kinder und Jugendliche integriert wird. Möglich wird das durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Partnern aus Zivilgesellschaft und Regierung.

REPSSI engagiert sich für das mentale und psychosoziale Wohlergehen von Kindern und Jugendlichen, um ihnen ein glückliches, zuversichtliches und würdevolles Leben zu ermöglichen.

In Regionen, die mit Armut, Krankheit und Gewalt zu kämpfen haben, konzentriert man sich häufig auf materielle und physische Bedürfnisse statt auf psychosoziale Betreuung. Dabei ist diese wesentlich dafür verantwortlich, dass Kinder und Jugendliche resilienter werden und ihr volles Potenzial erreichen können. Aktuell richtet sich das Angebot von REPSSI an Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene in Gebieten mit hoher HIV/Aids-Rate. Doch da die frühkindliche Entwicklung (Early Childhood Development / ECD) das Fundament für zukünftige soziale und schulische Leistungen darstellt, setzt sich die Organisation dafür ein, die psychosoziale Betreuung standardmässig in ECD-Angebote zu integrieren. REPSSI ist mit Niederlassungen in Südafrika, Mosambik, Tansania, Sambia und Simbabwe tätig und darüber hinaus in acht weiteren Ländern aktiv.

Noreen Huni, Gründerin und CEO von REPSSI, erhält einen von zehn Klaus J. Jacobs Awards 2018 für soziale Innovation und gesellschaftliches Engagement. Mit dem Preisgeld – 100’000 CHF – will Noreen Huni evidenzbasierte Lobbyarbeit für die frühkindliche Entwicklung leisten und die ECD-Kapazitäten in zwei Ländern, in denen REPSSI derzeit tätig ist, stärken.

Noreen Huni, Gründerin und CEO von REPSSI.

«Kinder sind das Herz jeder künftigen Gesellschaft»

 

 

 

REPSSI engagiert sich auf drei Ebenen, um Wandel herbeizuführen und in allen Programmen psychosoziale Betreuung anzubieten: Lobbyarbeit auf internationaler, nationaler und regionaler Ebene, damit Regierungen handeln und psychosoziale Betreuung in soziale Dienstleistungen und Bildungspläne integrieren; Generierung von Erkenntnissen und Wissen über die Relevanz von psychosozialer Betreuung; Interventionen wie das Teachers Diploma in Psychosocial Care, Support and Protection. Dieses Weiterbildungsprogramm für Lehrer wurde in Sambia getestet, evaluiert, als wirksam eingestuft und für andere Länder adaptiert.

Im Jahr 2018 vergibt die Jacobs Foundation zehn Preise an soziale Innovatoren und Wegbereiter des Wandels auf dem Gebiet der Kinder- und Jugendentwicklung. Jeder Preis ist mit 100’000 CHF dotiert. Die Preisträger bieten Lösungen für eine positive Kinder- und Jugendentwicklung an, die preisgünstig, nachhaltig und vor Ort leicht umsetzbar sind. Die zehn Gewinner wünschen sich sozialen Wandel und setzen sich dafür unermüdlich ein. Sie lassen ihren Worten Taten folgen.