Recipients of the 2017 Klaus J. Jacobs Awards Announced

More

Our Focus

The Jacobs Foundation invests in the future of young people so that they become socially responsible and productive members of society. In order to achieve this goal, children and youth must be given better opportunities for positive development and equitable access to education. Whatever their background, place of residence or family income, all children should have the chance to reach their full potential.

Science of Learning

More

Early Childhood

More

Rural Livelihoods

More

Articles

Our publications

Annual Report 2016

The annual reports inform about the values, activities as well as the institution and finances of the Jacobs Foundation.

Transatlantic Forum on Inclusive Early Years: Recommendations

The King Baudouin Foundation, together with the Jacobs Foundation and other partner foundations from Europe and the United States, have created the Transatlantic Forum on Inclusive Early Years, bringing together leading scientists, practitioners, civil society members, business leaders and political decision-makers from Europe and North America. Derived from the Forum policy recommendations have been published.

Klaus J. Jacobs Awards Brochure 2016

In honor of its founder, the entrepreneur Klaus J. Jacobs, who passed away in 2008, the Jacobs Foundation has awarded two annual prizes since 2009. Endowed with a total of 1.2 million Swiss francs, the awards recognize exceptional achievements in research and practice in the field of child and youth development.

Medium Term Plan (MTP)

In this Medium Term Plan 2016-2020, we outline our strategic goals and our key performance indicators.

Our activities

TRECC – Changes in Education in Ivory Coast

Seeking to improve the living conditions of Ivory Coast’s cocoa farmers and their children, the Jacobs Foundation is working with public and private organizations to develop a sustainable ecosystem that will ensure access to high-quality education.

Jacobs Foundation Research Fellowship Program

Highly talented and innovative young scholars and mid-career researchers working on child and youth development advance their research with a Jacobs Foundation Research Fellowship, which will improve the development and living conditions of children and youth.

Jacobs Network

It is people who make change possible. Mindful of that fact, the Jacobs Foundation is working closely with talented, committed individuals thereby creating a network to advance the Foundation’s agenda.

Ready! Early childhood is decisive

Ready! is a campaign throughout Switzerland that focuses on the formative early childhood years. It brings partners active in the early childhood sector together to work toward a comprehensive early childhood policy.

QualiKita – Setting Standards for Daycare Centers

There are many different kinds of daycare centers. But what do we really know about them? In the interest of greater transparency, the Jacobs Foundation and kibesuisse, a Swiss organization in the early childhood education and care sector, launched the QualiKita initiative.

Primokiz2 – For an Early Childhood Policy

Primokiz2 connects all actors in the education, social, and health sector and supports them to develop a comprehensive policy on early childhood education thereby creating sound structural conditions.

BRISE – Initiative to Foster Early Childhood Development

The longitudinal study being conducted in Bremen with the title “BRISE: Bremen Initiative to Foster Early Childhood Development” includes a number of targeted interventions for children during the first seven years of life.

DKJS – Quality at the Local Level in Germany

The German Children and Youth Foundation (DKJS), the Jacobs Foundation and other partners are launching “Quality at the Local Level” in an effort to improve the quality of Germany’s early childhood education and care sector.

Educational Landscapes Switzerland

To give every child the opportunity for a comprehensive, high-quality education in school and beyond, the Jacobs Foundation is encouraging innovative, systematic cooperation between school-based and extracurricular actors through its Educational Landscapes program.

Jacobs Young Scholars

Every year, senior scholars nominate approximately a dozen young scholars to participate in the Jacobs Foundation’s annual conference. Invitations are extended to postdoctoral researchers whose work is directly related to the focus of the conference.

Jacobs Foundation Conference

Every year since 1991, the Jacobs Foundation has held a conference at Marbach Castle on Lake Constance, attracting leading scientists and young scholars from all over the world.

CCLM Fellows

Can memory training boost children’s achievement and intelligence? To what extent is the development of a child’s motor skills correlated with learning in general? These are just some of the questions that the Center for Cognition, Learning and Memory (CCLM) is investigating.

LIFE Fellows

Lifespan research examines the gradual and systematic changes in behavior that take place over the course of a person’s life. By observing such changes, scientists are able to draw valuable conclusions about child and youth development.

CIDER – Interdisciplinary Educational Research

The purpose of the College for Interdisciplinary Educational Research (CIDER) is to foster interdisciplinary cooperation in the field of education research.

DIPF – Promoting Individual Learning

How can we gain a better understanding of the prerequisite of children’s learning, and how can we provide targeted support? These questions guide the new partnership between the German Institute for International Educational Research (DIPF) and the Jacobs Foundation.

The Swiss Ed Tech Collider – A Modern Co-working Space

Society is changing, and so is education. Classrooms have entered the digital age. As a result, we not only need new teaching methods; we also need to introduce new educational technologies to the classroom.

Ready!
Frühe Kindheit ist entscheidend

Mehr

Unser Fokus

Die Jacobs Foundation investiert in die Zukunft junger Menschen, damit sie sozial verantwortungsbewusste und produktive Mitglieder der Gesellschaft werden können. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, sind bessere Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten von Kindern und Jugendlichen sowie gerechte Chancen auf Bildung nötig. Alle Kinder sollten unabhängig von ihrer Herkunft, ihrem Wohnort oder dem Einkommen ihrer Eltern, ihr Potenzial voll ausschöpfen können.

Wissenschaft des Lernens

Mehr

Frühe Kindheit

Mehr

Ländliche Bildung

Mehr

Artikel

Unsere Publikationen

Studien zur frühkindlichen Bildung, Betreuung und Erziehung in der Schweiz

Ein neuer Bericht gibt einen Überblick über Studien zur frühkindlichen Bildung, Betreuung und Erziehung (FBBE) in der Schweiz.

Downloads

Kantonale Strategien und Koordinationsansätze im Bereich der FBBE

Die Jacobs Foundation hat in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bundesamt für Sozialversicherungen (Nationales Programm gegen Armut) und dem Staatssekretariat für Migration eine Bestandesaufnahme bei den Kantonen durchgeführt.

Downloads

Jahresbericht 2016

Die Jahresberichte informieren über die Werte und Aktivitäten, die Institution sowie die Finanzen der Jacobs Foundation.

Whitepaper „Kosten und Nutzen einer Politik der frühen Kindheit“

Die Jacobs Foundation ein Whitepaper beauftragt, um herauszufinden, für wen sich eine Politik der frühen Kindheit kurzfristig und langfristig lohnt.

Downloads

Unsere Aktivitäten

TRECC – Bildungswandel in der Elfenbeinküste

Die Jacobs Foundation entwickelt gemeinsam mit öffentlichen und privaten Organisationen ein nachhaltiges Ökosystem, das den Zugang zu qualitativ hochwertiger Bildung gewährleistet, um die Lebensbedingungen der Kakaobauern und deren Kinder in der Elfenbeinküste zu verbessern.

Jacobs Foundation Research Fellowship Program

Wissenschaftler aus verschiedenen Forschungsdisziplinen sollen sich in der Kinder- und Jugendforschung gezielt weiterentwickeln können, um mit ihrer Forschungsarbeit die Entwicklungs und Lernbedingungen von Kindern und Jugendlichen nachhaltig zu verbessern.

Jacobs Network

Menschen sind das Fundament für Veränderung. Deshalb arbeitet die Jacobs Foundation eng mit talentierten Persönlichkeiten zusammen und kreiert ein Netzwerk mit engagierten Menschen, welche die Anliegen der Stiftung weiter vorantreiben.

Ready! Frühe Kindheit ist entscheidend

Ready! ist eine schweizweite Kampagne, die sich mit den prägenden Jahren der frühen Kindheit auseinandersetzt. Ziel ist es, dass sich die Partner im Frühbereich zusammenschliessen und gemeinsam für eine umfassende Politik der frühen Kindheit eintreten.

QualiKita – Standards für Kinderbetreuung

Die Vielfalt der Kindertagesstätten ist gross. Doch was steckt unter der Oberfläche? Um mehr Transparenz zu schaffen, haben die Jacobs Foundation und kibesuisse (Verband Kinderbetreuung Schweiz) QualiKita entwickelt.

Primokiz2– Für eine Politik der frühen Kindheit

Primokiz2 vernetzt die Akteure in den Bereichen Bildung, Soziales, und Gesundheit und unterstützt sie darin, eine umfassende Politik der frühen Kindheit zu entwickeln, um gute strukturelle Rahmenbedingungen zu schaffen.

BRISE – Initiative zur Stärkung frühkindlicher Entwicklung

Die Bremer Initiative zur Stärkung frühkindlicher Entwicklung (BRISE) ist eine Langzeitstudie mit einer Reihe begleitender Förderangebote, die Kinder in den ersten sieben Lebensjahren mit gezielten Massnahmen unterstützt.

DKJS – Qualität vor Ort in Deutschland

Mit „Qualität vor Ort“ schaffen die Deutsche Kinder- und Jugendstiftung (DKJS), das Bundesministerium für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend und die Jacobs Foundation eine Bewegung für gute Qualität in der frühkindlichen Bildung, Betreuung und Erziehung in Deutschland.

Bildungslandschaften Schweiz

Um Kindern und Jugendlichen gleichberechtigte Chancen auf eine umfassende Bildungsqualität über die Schule hinaus zu ermöglichen, fördert die Jacobs Foundation die innovative und systematische Zusammenarbeit von schulischen und ausserschulischen Akteuren.

DIPF – Individuelles Lernen unterstützen

Die Anforderungen an Kitas und Schulen steigen, gezielt auf die unterschiedlichen Lernbedürfnisse von Kindern einzugehen. Hier setzt eine neue strategische Partnerschaft des Deutschen Instituts für Internationale Pädagogische Forschung (DIPF) und der Jacobs Foundation an.

CCLM Fellows

Kann Gedächtnistraining bei Schulkindern deren Leistung und Intelligenz verbessern? Wie korreliert die Entwicklung der motorischen Fähigkeiten eines Kindes mit dessen allgemeinem Lernverhalten? Solchen Fragen widmet sich das Center for Cognition, Learning and Memory (CCLM).

Jacobs Young Scholars

Etablierte Wissenschaftler schlagen jährlich rund ein Dutzend Nachwuchswissenschaftler zur Teilnahme an der Jacobs Foundation Conference vor. Zur Konferenz zugelassen werden Postdoktoranden, deren Forschungsarbeit zum jeweiligen Thema der Konferenz passt.

Der Swiss Ed Tech Collider

Der Swiss EdTech Collider wird sich mit neuen Methoden und Lösungen den Herausforderungen der digitalen Gesellschaft stellen, vom Kindergarten bis hin zur privaten und betrieblichen Weiterbildung.