From the Favela to the World

Luke Dowdney, founder of Fight for Peace (FFP) has developed a community-based response to the arming and employment of young people by drug trafficking gangs in Brazil. Since its founding in 2000 in the Complexo da Maré favela in Rio de Janeiro, FFP has become a global youth development NGO that adopts a public health approach to violence prevention, delivering localised primary, secondary and tertiary level interventions to reduce youth violence. FFP has been implemented in over 26 countries worldwide.

FFP’s Theory of Change holds that once a person changes the way they view themselves, their relationships with others, and their perspective about the future, they will begin to make positive changes to their attitudes, behaviour, and situation. At academies in Rio and London, FFP facilitates these changes through its Five Pillars methodology, which combines:
boxing and martial arts (B&MA), formal education provision, employability training and job placement, psychosocial support services, and youth leadership. FFP projects and programmes each use a different mix of the Five Pillars, providing the opportunities and support that help youth make positive life choices and develop the determination and resilience necessary to overcome the challenges ahead. To date, the FFP methodology reaches over 240,000 young people globally.

Luke Dowdney receives one of ten 2018 Klaus J. Jacobs Awards for social innovation and engagement. With the award money of CHF 100,000 Luke Dowdney plans to invest in advocacy work to increase awareness of the issue of youth violence, and galvanise support to catalyse the existing violence prevention strategy as a template for other communities and building key international development partnerships.

Founder and Director of Fight for Peace, Luke Dowdney.

Young people need to become resilient to risk factors and to be able to make positive life choices.”

FFP’s unique and innovative approach to violence prevention harnesses localised interventions at a global scale. The methodology has grown “from the favela to the world”, having been tested, developed and refined in a community with extremely high levels of crime and violence and then implemented in over 26 countries globally. To achieve this, FFP invested in collaboration and sharing – working in partnership and sharing best practices to support over 160 partner organisations become more sustainable. Through this work we have achieved lasting change for some of the most marginalised young people, helping them stay away from violence and progress into education and employment pathways.

In 2018, the Jacobs Foundation bestows 10 awards to social innovators and change makers in the field of child and youth development. Each award will come with an amount of CHF 100’000. The recipients provide solutions for positive child and youth development at low cost, which are sustainable and can be easily implemented on the spot. What the ten awardees have in common is their wish for social change and their restless personal social engagement. They are beyond talking – they act.

This website uses cookies. If you browse through our pages, you agree to our Terms of Use.

OK

Von der Favela in die Welt

Luke Dowdney, Gründer von Fight for Peace (FFP), hat mit seiner Gemeindeinitiative in Brasilien auf die Rekrutierung und Bewaffnung junger Leute durch Drogenbanden reagiert. Seit ihren Anfängen im Jahr 2000 in der Favela Complexo da Maré in Rio de Janeiro ist FFP zu einer internationalen NGO für Jugendentwicklung angewachsen, die sich im Rahmen des Gesundheitswesens um Gewaltprävention bemüht. Auf lokaler Ebene werden primäre, sekundäre und tertiäre Interventionen angeboten, um die Gewalt unter Jugendlichen zu reduzieren. FFP operiert heute in mehr als 26 Ländern weltweit.

Aus dem Wirkungsmodell von FFP geht hervor, dass eine Person, die sich selbst, ihre Beziehung zu anderen und die eigene Zukunft in einem neuen Licht betrachtet, auch ihre Einstellungen, Verhaltensweisen und Umstände zum Positiven verändern wird. In Akademien in Rio und London ermöglicht FFP diese Veränderungen mithilfe einer Fünf-Säulen-Methode, die folgende Elemente beinhaltet:
Boxen und Kampfsport, Bildung, Beschäftigungsfähigkeit und Arbeitsplatzvermittlung, psychosoziale Betreuung und Youth Leadership. In den verschiedenen Projekten und Programmen von FFP werden diese fünf Elemente je nach Bedarf unterschiedlich stark eingesetzt. So bekommen die jungen Leute eine Zukunftsperspektive und Unterstützung sowie die nötige Hilfe, um positive Lebensentscheidungen zu treffen und die notwendige Willensstärke und Resilienz zu entwickeln, um zukünftige Herausforderungen zu meistern. Bis heute konnte FFP mit ihrem Ansatz mehr als 240‘000 Jugendliche weltweit erreichen.

Luke Dowdney erhält einen von zehn Klaus J. Jacobs Awards 2018 für soziale Innovation und gesellschaftliches Engagement. Mit dem Preisgeld – 100‘000 CHF – will Luke Dowdney wichtige Lobbyarbeit leisten, um auf das Problem der Jugendgewalt aufmerksam zu machen und Mitstreiter zu finden, damit die existierende Strategie zur Gewaltprävention auch anderen Gemeinden zur Verfügung gestellt werden kann. Ausserdem sollen wichtige internationale Entwicklungspartnerschaften geschlossen werden.

Luke Dowdney, Gründer und Leiter von Fight for Peace.

„Junge Leute müssen gegen Risikofaktoren resilient werden und in der Lage sein, positive Lebensentscheidungen zu treffen.“

FFPs einzigartiger und innovativer Ansatz zur Gewaltprävention nutzt lokale Interventionen auf internationaler Ebene – er ging sozusagen „von der Favela in die Welt”. Entwickelt, getestet und verbessert wurde die Methode in einer Gemeinde mit extrem hoher Kriminalität und Gewalt, um dann in 26 Ländern weltweit umgesetzt zu werden. Das war nur durch Kollaboration und Austausch möglich: FFP arbeitet mit Partnern zusammen und kommuniziert Best-Practice-Verfahren, um 160 Organisationen zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit zu verhelfen. Auf diese Weise konnten für junge Leute, die am Rande der Gesellschaft stehen, dauerhafte Veränderungen herbeigeführt werden: Sie waren in der Lage, der Gewalt den Rücken zu kehren und sich stattdessen um Bildung und Arbeitsplätze zu bemühen.

Im Jahr 2018 vergibt die Jacobs Foundation zehn Preise an soziale Innovatoren und Wegbereiter des Wandels auf dem Gebiet der Kinder- und Jugendentwicklung. Jeder Preis ist mit 100’000 CHF dotiert. Die bieten Lösungen für eine positive Kinder- und Jugendentwicklung an, die preisgünstig, nachhaltig und vor Ort leicht umsetzbar sind. Die zehn Gewinner wünschen sich sozialen Wandel und setzen sich dafür unermüdlich ein. Sie lassen ihren Worten Taten folgen.