CLEF & ELAN

A strong coalition of philanthropic partners and companies of the cocoa and chocolate industry joins forces with the Ivorian government to support its strategic objectives to combat child labor and provide a good start in life and quality education for all children.

The Jacobs Foundation and the UBS Optimus Foundation as well as the Ivorian government and the cocoa and chocolate companies Barry Callebaut, Blommer, Cargill, Chocolonely Foundation, ECOM, Ferrero, Fuji Oil Group, Hershey Company, Mars Wrigley, Mondelēz International, Nestlé, Olam Cocoa, Sucden and Touton intend to jointly provide the necessary seed funding to launch two pooled funding facilities with a target capitalization of 150 million Swiss Francs to promote effective learning and early childhood development at scale in Côte d’Ivoire. To reach the target capitalization for the two facilities, additional stakeholders are invited to join the coalition.

CLEF and ELAN
The first of the two funding initiatives, the Child Learning and Education Facility (CLEF), aims to reach 5 million children and 10 million parents in cocoa growing areas and beyond, focusing on access to quality primary education.
The second initiative, the Early Learning and Nutrition Facility (ELAN), is designed to reach 1.3 million children below the age of 5 and their caregivers, providing quality services and training in early childhood development and nutrition.

The Ivorian government has developed a National Action Plan to Combat Child Labor, has launched a 10-year Education Sector Strategy and has introduced a Multisectoral Plan for Nutrition to develop its human capital and tackle the root causes of child labor. The CLEF and ELAN initiatives complement the government’s efforts.

Blueprints for public private partnerships
Côte d’Ivoire leads the world in the production and export of cocoa beans for the manufacture of chocolate. Yet, a 2015 survey found more than 1 million children were performing hazardous work in cocoa production in Côte d’Ivoire. In rural Ivorian areas, nearly 30% of primary school-aged children are out of school, while the percentage rises to 50% for children of lower secondary school age (Côte d’Ivoire MICS 2016). Among those who are in school, the majority do not reach the minimum expected level in reading and math. This poor school performance is largely attributable to low quality education, but also to suboptimal development in the early years of children’s lives. With a national rate of 30% of stunting, which is especially dangerous for young children, Côte d’Ivoire is among the most vulnerable countries in Sub-Saharan Africa. Without better early childhood development and access to quality education, these children are at higher risk of child labor.

Around the world, more than 150 million children may be affected by child labor. The CLEF and ELAN initiatives represent a multi-stakeholder partnership that is seeking a sustainable solution to this situation in Côte d’Ivoire. These initiatives could serve as blueprints for effective public private partnerships to help achieve the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

Alexandra Guentzer
Chief Communication Officer, Jacobs Foundation
Zurich, Switzerland
alexandra.guentzer@jacobsfoundation.org
Tel. +41 (0) 44 388 61 06

This website uses cookies. If you browse through our pages, you agree to our Terms of Use.

OK

CLEF & ELAN

Eine starke Koalition aus Stiftungspartnern sowie 11 Kakao- und Schokoladenherstellern tut sich mit der ivorischen Regierung zusammen und unterstützt diese bei der Umsetzung ihrer strategischen Ziele, um Kinderarbeit zu bekämpfen und allen Kindern einen guten Start ins Leben und Zugang zu qualitativ hochwertiger Bildung zu ermöglichen.

Die Jacobs Foundation, die UBS Optimus Foundation, die ivorische Regierung sowie die Kakao- und Schokoladenhersteller Barry Callebaut, Blommer, Cargill, Chocolonely Foundation, ECOM, Ferrero, Fuji Oil Group, Hershey Company, Mars Wrigley, Mondelēz International, Nestlé, Olam Cocoa, Sucden und Touton wollen gemeinsam das nötige Startkapital zur Verfügung stellen, um zwei Finanzierungsplattformen zu lancieren. Insgesamt sollen 150 Millionen CHF aufgebracht werden, damit in weiten Teilen der Elfenbeinküste effektive Lernmöglichkeiten entstehen und die frühkindliche Entwicklung gefördert werden kann. Um die finanzielle Zielvorgabe für die beiden Plattformen zu erreichen, sind weitere Akteure eingeladen, sich der Koalition anzuschliessen.

CLEF und ELAN
Die erste der beiden Finanzierungsinitiativen heisst Child Learning and Education Facility (CLEF) und soll 5 Millionen Kinder und 10 Millionen Eltern in Kakao anbauenden Gebieten und darüber hinaus erreichen. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf qualitativ hochwertiger Grundschulbildung.
Die zweite Initiative ist die Early Learning and Nutrition Facility (ELAN), die auf 1,3 Millionen Kinder bis 5 Jahre und deren Betreuungspersonen abzielt. Sie dient zur Bereitstellung hochwertiger Angebote und Trainings im Bereich frühkindliche Entwicklung und Ernährung.

Um die Entwicklung ihres Humankapitals zu unterstützen und die Hauptursachen der Kinderarbeit zu bekämpfen, hat die ivorische Regierung drei Strategien entwickelt: den nationalen Handlungsplan zur Bekämpfung der Kinderarbeit, den 10-Jahres-Plan für den Bildungssektor und einen nationalen, sektorenübergreifenden Ernährungsplan. Die CLEF und ELAN Initiativen ergänzen die Massnahmen der Regierung.

Beispiele für öffentlich-private Partnerschaften
Die Elfenbeinküste ist weltweit führend in der Produktion und im Export von Kakaobohnen für die Schokoladenherstellung. Doch eine Studie aus 2015 zeigte, dass mehr als 1 Million Kinder in der Elfenbeinküste gefährliche Arbeiten in der Kakaoproduktion verrichten. In ländlichen Gebieten gehen knapp 30 % der Kinder im Grundschulalter nicht zur Schule; bei Kindern im unteren Sekundarschulalter sind es sogar 50 % (Côte d’Ivoire MICS 2016). Von den Kindern, die die Schule besuchen, erreicht ein Grossteil nicht die Mindestanforderungen für Lese- und Rechenfertigkeiten. Diese unzureichenden schulischen Leistungen sind überwiegend auf die geringe Qualität der Bildung zurückzuführen, zudem jedoch auch auf eine suboptimale Entwicklung in den frühen Lebensjahren der Kinder. 30 % der Bevölkerung sind von Mangelernährung betroffen, was besonders für kleine Kinder gefährlich ist. Damit zählt die Elfenbeinküste zu den am stärksten gefährdeten Ländern in Subsahara-Afrika. Ohne eine Verbesserung im Bereich der frühkindlichen Entwicklung und Zugang zu qualitativ hochwertiger Bildung sind diese Kinder einem höheren Risiko von Kinderarbeit ausgesetzt.

Weltweit könnten mehr als 150 Millionen Kinder von Kinderarbeit betroffen sein. Die Initiativen CLEF und ELAN sind ein Zusammenschluss verschiedener Akteure, die in der Elfenbeinküste eine nachhaltige Lösung für dieses Problem suchen. Diese Initiativen könnten als Beispiele für effektive öffentlich-private Partnerschaften dienen, um die Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung der Vereinten Nationen zu erreichen.

Alexandra Güntzer
Chief Communication Officer, Jacobs Foundation
Zürich, Schweiz
alexandra.guentzer@jacobsfoundation.org
Tel. +41 (0) 44 388 61 06

Wir verwenden Cookies, um einen guten Webservice zu ermöglichen. Wenn Sie durch unsere Seiten surfen, erklären Sie sich mit unseren Nutzungsbedingungen einverstanden.

OK