The successful entrepreneur

Klaus J. Jacobs was born on December 3, 1936, into the well-known coffee dynasty in Bremen. After completing secondary school and vocational training, he went to Central America as a coffee trader. Returning to Europe in 1961, he assumed the leadership of the Austrian subsidiary of his family’s coffee company. In 1970, after earning an executive master’s degree at Stanford University, Jacobs took over the management of Johann Jacobs & Co., moving the company’s headquarters to Zurich in 1973. He acquired the Suchard and Tobler brands in 1982. Eight years later, he sold his majority share in Jacobs Suchard to the U.S. company Philip Morris.

The year 1991 marked a new beginning: Klaus J. Jacobs founded the global companies Adecco (an HR solutions provider) and Barry Callebaut (a manufacturer of cocoa and chocolate products). The two companies are now leaders in their respective global markets.

„It would be nice if they said of me: He was an entrepreneur, not a bore.“

The socially committed founder

A lover of nature, Klaus J. Jacobs was socially engaged throughout his life, with a particular focus on helping young people. While a deacon at Bremen’s St. Ansgarii Church as a young man, he founded a preschool for children suffering from spastic paralysis. For over twenty years, he was a member of the board of the World Boy Scout Foundation, serving as its chairman from 1996 to 1998. He was a founding member and president of the Friends of Hohe Tauern National Park association in Austria.

In 1989, Klaus J. Jacobs and his family established a private foundation with an international orientation: the Jacobs Foundation, headquartered in Zurich. Its goal was to offer positive, sustainable support for the young people of future generations by providing opportunities for positive development and thus enabling them to become socially responsible members of society. In 2001, Jacobs transferred his interests in Jacobs Holding AG to the Jacobs Foundation by means of a donation.

In 2000, Klaus J. Jacobs, a passionate horse-lover and accomplished dressage rider who was a member of Switzerland’s national dressage team for over a decade, realized a personal dream: He purchased Newsells Park Stud, located near London. There he bred racehorses, following a family tradition.

„I always felt driven to ensure that children have a good future ahead of them.”

Klaus J. Jacobs received numerous honorary degrees in recognition of his exceptional efforts to promote education and youth development:

In 2005, he received an honorary doctorate from the University of Basel. In 2008, he was admitted to the Honorary Senate of the Foundation Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings in recognition of his commitment to education. That same year, he was awarded the Leibniz Medal by the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities for his contributions to promote science and research, and he also received the highest honor his home city of Bremen confers: its Gold Medal of Honor, recognizing his commitment to youth development and his exemplary philanthropic contributions to the cause of scientific progress.

Der erfolgreiche Unternehmer

Am 3. Dezember 1936 als Sohn der bekannten Kaffee-Dynastie in Bremen geboren, zog Klaus J. Jacobs nach Abitur und Abschluss der Lehre als Kaffeehändler nach Zentralamerika. 1961 kehrte er nach Europa zurück und leitete die österreichische Tochtergesellschaft des Kaffeeunternehmens. Klaus J. Jacobs machte in Stanford einen Executive Master und übernahm 1970 die Leitung der Johann Jacobs & Co. 1973 verlegte er den Hauptsitz des Unternehmens nach Zürich. 1982 erwarb er die Marken Suchard und Tobler. Acht Jahre später verkaufte Klaus J. Jacobs die Mehrheitsbeteiligung an Jacobs Suchard an den US-Konzern Philip Morris.

1991 dann der unternehmerische Neubeginn: Klaus J. Jacobs gründete die weltweit tätigen Unternehmen Adecco (Personalvermittlung) und Barry Callebaut (Herstellung von Kakao- und Schokoladenprodukten). Beide Unternehmen sind heute Weltmarktführer ihrer Branche.

„Schön wäre es, man würde über mich sagen: Er war ein Unternehmer, kein Langweiler.“

Der sozial engagierte Gründer

Neben seiner Naturverbundenheit, engagierte er sich Klaus J. Jacobs Zeit seines Lebens sozial und setzte sich für die Jugend ein. Schon in jungen Jahren gründete er als Diakon der St. Ansgarii Kirche in Bremen einen Kindergarten für spastisch gelähmte Kinder. Mehr als zwanzig Jahre war er Mitglied des Stiftungsrats der World Boy Scout Foundation, der er von 1996 bis 1998 auch als Präsident vorstand. Er war Gründungsmitglied und Präsident der Gesellschaft der „Freunde des Nationalparks Hohe Tauern“ in Österreich.

1989 gründete Klaus J. Jacobs mit seiner Familie die Jacobs Foundation in Zürich als private Stiftung internationaler Ausrichtung. Das Ziel: Künftige Generationen durch die Verbesserung ihrer Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten nachhaltig positiv unterstützen, damit sie sozial verantwortungsbewusste Mitglieder der Gesellschaft werden können. 2001 übertrug Klaus J. Jacobs seine Beteiligung an der Jacobs Holding AG an die Jacobs Foundation mittels Schenkung.

Im Jahr 2000 verwirklichte sich Klaus J. Jacobs einen privaten Traum: Der passionierte Pferdeliebhaber und begnadete Dressurreiter, der mehr als ein Jahrzehnt der schweizerischen Nationalmannschaft für Dressurreiter angehörte, kaufte das Gestüt Newsells Park in der Nähe von London. Dort züchtete er einer Familientradition folgend Galopprennpferde.

 

„Es hat mich immer wieder dazu getrieben, dafür zu sorgen, dass Kinder eine gute Zukunft haben.”

Klaus J. Jacobs wurden zahlreiche Ehrentitel für sein herausragendes soziales Engagement im Bereich Bildung und Jugendförderung verliehen:

2005 erhielt er die Ehrendoktorwürde der Universität Basel. 2008 wurde er in den Ehrensenat der Stiftung Lindauer Nobelpreisträger aufgenommen in Anerkennung seines Engagements im Bildungsbereich. Im gleichen Jahr wurde er mit der Leibniz Medaille der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften in Anerkennung seiner besonderen Verdienste um die Förderung der Wissenschaft und Forschung ausgezeichnet sowie mit der höchsten Auszeichnung seiner Heimatstadt Bremen geehrt – der Goldenen Ehrenmedaille für sein herausragendes soziales Engagement im Bereich Jugendförderung und beispielgebendes Mäzenatentum zum Wohle der Wissenschaft.