The Klaus J. Jacobs Best Practice Prizes

Previous recipients

The Klaus J. Jacobs Best Practice Prizes celebrate outstanding commitment to evidence-based practice, with recipients being leading organizations and individuals dedicated to quality education.

2022 Best Practice Prize – Youth Impact

Based in Gaborone, Botswana, Youth Impact, is a grassroots, youth-led, evidence-based movement. Its aim is to identify, adapt and scale-up health and education programs, by young people for young people. Last year it reached a milestone of having …

2022 Best Practice Prize – Luminos Fund​

The Luminos Fund, headquartered in Boston MA, provides transformative education programs to thousands of out-of-school children each year, helping them to catch up to grade level, reintegrate into local schools, and prepare for lifelong learning. …

2022 Best Practice Prize – Luker Foundation​

Luker Foundation, or Fundación Luker, created in 1994 in the Colombian city of Manizales, is a social innovation laboratory creating solutions that promote development and equity, through public, private and academic alliances. The Foundation is m…
Learning Minds

2020 Best Practice Prize – Dybuster

The Jacobs Foundation Board recognizes Dybuster for their exceptional efforts to promote the learning abilities of dyslexic and dyscalculic children by providing software solutions based on artificial intelligence and neuroscience, and especially …

2020 Best Practice Prize – PEAS

The Jacobs Foundation Board recognizes PEAS for their exceptional efforts to drive educational quality through efficient school management and to operate low-cost secondary schools for the most marginalized students in Uganda and Zambia, and espec…

2020 Best Practice Prize – Ubongo

The Jacobs Foundation Board recognizes Ubongo for their exceptional efforts to provide quality edutainment with localized educational cartoons to children in Africa, and especially for their response to COVID-19 related challenges.

2017 Best Practice Prize – War Child

The 2017 Klaus J. Jacobs Best Practice Prize was awarded to War Child in the Netherlands for their global efforts to improve the lives of children exposed to war by promoting psychosocial well-being and fostering emotional resilience for their fut…

2016 Best Practice Prize – ICS-SP

The 2016 Klaus J. Jacobs Best Practice Prize was awarded to ICS-SP in Nairobi, Kenya for their unique approach combining agribusiness with skillful parenting in East Africa aimed at improving early childhood development, parenting and agricultural…
Learning Minds

2015 Best Practice Prize – Gesamtschule Unterstrass

The Klaus J. Jacobs Best Practice Prize 2015 went to Gesamtschule Unterstrass (a private comprehensive school) in Zurich, Switzerland, for an innovative social emotional learning project adding social competencies to the Swiss curriculum.
Learning Minds

2014 Best Practice Prize – SHARPZ

The Klaus J. Jacobs Best Practice Prize 2014 was awarded to the Serenity Harm Reduction Programme Zambia (SHARPZ) for its evidence-based Cognitive Behavioral Therapy to address severe needs of trauma affected children and their families in Zambia.
Learning Minds

2013 Best Practice Prize – ELTERN-AG

The Klaus J. Jacobs Best Practice Prize 2013 went to the ELTERN-AG, for its prevention program to support families that have young children and find themselves in particularly difficult circumstances.
Learning Minds

2012 Best Practice Prize – Off Road Kids Foundation

The Klaus J. Jacobs Best Practice Prize 2012 went to the Off Road Kids Foundation, Germany, for its nationwide social work, helping young runaways and street children.
Learning Minds

2011 Best Practice Prize – Ideenbüro

The Klaus J. Jacobs Best Practice Prize 2011 was awarded to Christiane Daepp for the development of the concept of the Ideenbüro, helping schoolchildren to take on responsibility, to learn to cooperate and to regard life’s problems as challenges.
Learning Minds

2010 Best Practice Prize – Opstapje e.V. and a:primo

The Klaus J. Jacobs Best Practice Prize 2010 was given jointly to the two organizations Opstapje e.V. in Germany and a:primo in Switzerland. They have taken an innovative support model for children and families and successfully adapted it to local…
Learning Minds

2009 Best Practice Prize – Father Johann Casutt 

The Klaus J. Jacobs Best Practice Prize 2009 went to Father Johann Casutt († 2012) who successfully adapted the Swiss model of vocational training for young people to suit the circumstances of Indonesia.