2016 Research Prize

Professor Orazio P. Attanasio, Head of the Department of Economics at University College London (UCL) and Research Director at the Institute for Fiscal Studies at London, has pushed research frontiers by using economic models in combination with field experiments to assess and shape health and education policies in early childhood development in low-income and middle-income settings.

“Investment” of parents is crucial

Inspired by a home-visiting program in Jamaica, Prof. Attanasio and his team designed a stimulation and nutrition program delivered through home visits for communities in 96 Colombian towns, including the largest evaluation of a program of this kind. After 18 months the children in this program had significantly higher cognition and language skills. The research team could show that the developmental improvements were due to the parents “investing” in more time with their children (important for socio-economic skills) and in stimulating materials such as toys and books (important for cognitive development).

With the Klaus J. Jacobs Research Prize money, Attanasio will implement and evaluate an intervention in rural India to provide children with better quality childcare in different settings and for different age groups. This will generate new evidence on the interaction of early interventions at home and center-based interventions for older children.

 

Videos

Exclusive Interview

Watch the exclusive interview with the recipient published on BOLD – Blog on Learning and Development here.

Research Prize 2016

Professor Orazio P. Attanasio, Leiter des Department of Economics am University College London (UCL) und Research Director am Londoner Institute for Fiscal Studies, hat neues Forschungsterrain betreten, indem er ökonomische Modelle in Kombination mit Feldversuchen verwendet und damit Gesundheits- und Bildungsmassnahmen für die frühkindliche Entwicklung in Ländern mit niedrigem und mittlerem Einkommen evaluiert und politische Prozesse mitgestaltet.

“Investition” der Eltern sehr wichtig 

Inspiriert durch ein Hausbesuchsprogramm in Jamaika entwickelte Professor Attanasio mit seinem Team ein Stimulations- und Ernährungsprogramm mit Hausbesuchen in 96 kolumbianischen Städten – einschliesslich der grössten Evaluation eines Programms dieser Art. Nach 18 Monaten hatten sich die kognitiven und sprachlichen Fähigkeiten der teilnehmenden Kinder erheblich verbessert. Das Forschungsteam konnte nachweisen, dass die Entwicklungsfortschritte auf eine grössere zeitliche „Investition” der Eltern in ihre Kinder (wichtig für sozioökonomische Fähigkeiten) und auf mehr stimulierende Gegenstände wie Spielzeug und Bücher (wichtig für die kognitive Entwicklung) zurückzuführen waren.

Mit dem Preisgeld des Klaus J. Jacobs Research Prize wird Attanasio eine Intervention im ländlichen Indien umsetzen und auswerten, die Kindern verschiedener Altersgruppen und in unterschiedlichen Umfeldern bessere Kinderbetreuung bieten soll. Das Programm wird neue Hinweise darauf liefern, wie sich frühe Interventionen zu Hause und Interventionen für ältere Kinder in Bildungseinrichtungen gegenseitig beeinflussen.

Videos

Exklusives Interview

Das exklusive Interview mit dem Preisträger finden Sie auf BOLD – Blog on Learning and Development hier.