2013 Best Practice Prize

“The families we are trying to reach have not had an easy life,” says social worker Janet Thiemann, a former student of Armbruster and now managing director of ELTERN-AG. Single parenthood, low levels of education, unemployment and an immigrant background are some of the factors that push families to the fringes of society and into isolation. “We want to improve children’s opportunities in life, and we are doing this by working with their parents.”

“We want to improve children’s opportunities in life, and we are doing this by working with their parents.”

Social Worker Janet Thiemann

ELTERN-AG, which includes a staff of 16 and 196 trained mentors, all of whom have a degree in education, takes a different approach than most early childhood education programs. Consciously recognizing the potential of parents who are excluded from participation in society, the program collaborates with them as equal partners. Mentors reach out to parents in their accustomed environment, inviting them to meet once a week to share their everyday experiences, joys and concerns. In a total of 20 meetings, the focus is on communication, learning to handle frustration and building a social network. This helps participants gain self-confidence and become better able to fulfill their role as parents.

So far, ELTERN-AG has reached 1,600 parents and 3,800 children. Today the program is active in 13 of Germany’s states, working with more than 50 partners, and other cities are soon to follow. Interest has also been expressed in Switzerland and Austria. ELTERN-AG plans to use its prize money to open up new sites, giving even more families access to this program.

Videos

Photos

Best Practice Prize 2013

„Die Familien, die wir erreichen wollen, stehen nicht auf der Sonnenseite des Lebens“, schildert Sozialpädagogin Janet Thiemann, damals Studentin bei Armbruster und heute Geschäftsführerin der ELTERN-AG. Alleinerziehendenstatus, niedriger Bildungsabschluss, Arbeitslosigkeit und Migrationshintergrund sind einige Umstände, die Familien an den gesellschaftlichen Rand und in soziale Isolation treiben.

Wir wollen die Lebenschancen der Kinder verbessern und tun dies, indem wir bei ihren Eltern ansetzen.

Sozialpädagogin Janet Thiemann

Damit gehen die 16 MitarbeiterInnen der ELTERN-AG und 196 ausgebildete MentorInnen die als Voraussetzung bereits über einen pädagogischen Abschluss verfügen müssen, einen anderen Weg als die meisten Angebote zur frühkindlichen Bildung. Ganz bewusst sehen sie das positive Potenzial in den Eltern, die von der gesellschaftlichen Teilhabe ausgeschlossen sind, und agieren mit ihnen auf Augenhöhe: Die MentorInnen gehen im direkten Lebensumfeld der Familien von sich aus auf die Eltern zu und laden sie ein, sich einmal pro Woche zu treffen und ihre Alltagserlebnisse, Freuden und Sorgen mitzuteilen. In insgesamt 20 Treffen geht es um Erfahrungsaustausch, die Verbesserung der Frustrationstoleranz und den Aufbau eines sozialen Netzwerkes.

Bereits über 1600 Eltern und 3800 Kinder konnten bisher erreicht werden. Heute wird das Programm mit mehr als 50 Partnern in 13 Bundesländern angeboten und weitere Städte sollen folgen; auch aus der Schweiz und Österreich gibt es bereits Anfragen. Mit dem Preisgeld möchte die ELTERN-AG weitere Standorte erschliessen und ihr Programm somit noch mehr Familien zugänglich machen.

Videos

ELTERN-AG