2010 Research Prize

Terrie Moffitt and Avshalom Caspi have opened up new perspectives on the interplay between genetic disposition and environmental influences in the development of children. In 2002, Terrie Moffitt and Avshalom Caspi published groundbreaking findings in the renowned journal Science regarding the complex interplay between genetic disposition and environmental influences in the development of antisocial behavior.

On the basis of data from a long-term study conducted in New Zealand, the two scientists were able to prove that the impact of genetic disposition is dependent on environmental influences. Men who were abused as children and who carried a specific version of the so-called MAOA gene exhibited a stronger tendency towards acts of violence. In contrast, men with a different version of the same gene were less likely to develop antisocial behavior, even when they had been abused as children.
This study acted as a catalyst for numerous further examinations of the interplay between genetic disposition and environmental factors. These British-Israeli researchers have thus dispelled the widespread belief in genetic determinism. They have been able to show how genetic effects on health and behavior are often dependent on environmental influences that are under human control.

This same focus also appears in other research areas of Moffitt and Caspi. They have developed a scientific classification of young offenders, illustrating that approximately 95 percent of all conspicuous criminological behavior remains restricted to adolescence and is thus treatable. Above and beyond this, they were also the first to provide evidence showing that around half of adults with psychological problems already had diagnosable disorders before they were 15 years old. It is therefore of great importance that programs for prevention and treatment are initiated in early childhood.
For their exceptional work, Terrie Moffitt and Avshalom Caspi are awarded the Klaus J. Jacobs Prize 2010.

Video

Terrie Moffitt und Avshalom Caspi

Research Prize 2010

Terrie Moffitt und Avshalom Caspi haben neue Perspektiven auf das Zusammenspiel von Erbanlagen und Umwelteinflüssen bei der Entwicklung von Kindern eröffnet. 2002 veröffentlichten Terrie Moffitt und Avshalom Caspi im renommierten Wissenschaftsjournal «Science» bahnbrechende Erkenntnisse zum komplexen Zusammenspiel von Erbanlagen und Umwelteinflüssen bei der Entwicklung von antisozialem Verhalten:

Aufgrund von Daten aus einer neuseeländischen Langzeitstudie konnten die beiden Wissenschaftler nachweisen, dass der Einfluss der Erbanlagen von Umwelteinflüssen abhängig ist. In ihrer Kindheit misshandelte Männer, die mit einer bestimmten Version des so genannten MAOA-Gens ausgestattet waren, zeigten eine höhere Neigung zur Gewalttätigkeit. Bei Männern mit einer anderen Version desselben Gens war dagegen die Wahrscheinlichkeit geringer, dass sie ein antisoziales Verhalten entwickeln würden, selbst wenn sie in ihrer Kindheit misshandelt worden waren.

Die Studie wirkte als Startschuss für zahlreiche weitere Untersuchungen zum Wechselspiel von genetischer Disposition und Umweltfaktoren. Das britisch-israelische Forscherpaar widerlegte dabei den verbreiteten Glauben an genetischen Determinismus. Es konnte aufzeigen, wie genetische Auswirkungen auf Gesundheit und Verhalten oft von Umwelteinflüssen abhängig sind, welche die Menschen kontrollieren können. Caspi und Moffitt entwickelten eine Taxonomie jugendlicher Straftäter, die verdeutlicht, dass rund 95 Prozent aller kriminogenen Auffälligkeiten auf die Adoleszenz beschränkt bleiben und damit behandelbar sind. Darüber hinaus erbrachten sie auch als erste den Nachweis, dass rund die Hälfte der Erwachsenen mit psychischen Problemen bereits diagnostizierbare Störungen hatten, bevor sie 15 Jahre alt waren. Entsprechend gross ist die Bedeutung von Präventions- und Behandlungsprogrammen, die frühzeitig im Kindesalter ansetzen.

Video

Terrie Moffitt und Avshalom Caspi