Ready! Early childhood is decisive

Early childhood is a critical stage in an individual’s development, as the foundation for cognitive, social and emotional skills is laid during the first four years of life. To fully develop those skills, children need to grow up in a stimulating environment that allows them to learn through play. Early childhood programs are one way to create such an environment.

Ready! is a campaign throughout Switzerland that focuses on the formative early childhood years. It brings partners active in the early childhood sector together to work toward a comprehensive early childhood policy. Everyone who is directly or indirectly involved with children – families, child care providers, decision makers in the business and administrative spheres and politicians – is included in this policy.

High-quality early childhood education and care (ECEC) is essential if all children are to have a fair chance to develop to their full potential, and it is particularly important for children from socially disadvantaged families. Ready! therefore attaches particular importance to cooperation among all concerned, across various sectors and institutions, as well as to high-quality programs and the professionalization of personnel and institutions.

Ready! is sponsored by Heinz Altorfer (member of the Swiss National Commission for UNESCO), Christoph Eymann (member of the Swiss National Council), Milan Prenosil (chairman of the Confiserie Sprüngli AG Board of Management) and Lavinia Jacobs (chairwoman of the Jacobs Foundation’s Board of Trustees). Other representatives of the political realm, business and society serve as ambassadors. Institutions in civil society, academia and the public sector work together as partners in a coalition to promote Ready! and its goals

Ready! Frühe Kindheit ist entscheidend

Die frühe Kindheit ist eine äusserst entscheidende Entwicklungsphase im Leben. In den ersten vier Lebensjahren wird das Fundament in Bezug auf kognitive, soziale und emotionale Fähigkeiten gelegt. Damit sich diese Fähigkeiten voll entfalten können, sollen Kinder in einer anregenden Umgebung aufwachsen und spielerisch lernen. Solch eine Umgebung wird unter anderem durch verschiedene Angebote in der frühen Kindheit geschaffen.

Ready! ist eine schweizweite Kampagne, die sich mit den prägenden Jahren der frühen Kindheit auseinandersetzt. Ziel ist es, dass sich die Partner im Frühbereich zusammenschliessen und gemeinsam für eine umfassende Politik der frühen Kindheit eintreten. Alle, die direkt oder indirekt mit dem Kind befasst sind – Familien, Fremdbetreuende, Entscheidungsträger aus Wirtschaft und Verwaltung sowie Politiker – sind Teil einer solchen Politik.

Damit alle Kinder eine gerechte Chance haben, ihr volles Potenzial entfalten zu können, braucht es qualitativ hochstehende frühkindliche Bildung, Betreuung und Erziehung. Dies gilt insbesondere für Kinder aus sozial benachteiligten Familien. Daher setzt Ready! auf eine bereichs- und institutionsübergreifende Zusammenarbeit aller Beteiligten, hochwertige Betreuungsangebote sowie die Professionalisierung der Fachpersonen und Institutionen.

Getragen wird Ready! von Heinz Altorfer (Mitglied der Unesco Kommission Schweiz), Christoph Eymann (Nationalrat), Milan Prenosil (VR-Präsident der Confiserie Sprüngli AG) und Lavinia Jacobs (Stiftungsratspräsidentin der Jacobs Foundation). Weitere Persönlichkeiten aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft agieren als Botschafter. Institutionen der Zivilgesellschaft, der Wissenschaft und der öffentlichen Hand setzen sich als Koalitionspartner gemeinsam für das Anliegen von Ready! ein.

Einzelpersonen können sich ebenfalls engagieren, indem sie die Charta digital unterzeichnen.