Learning Sciences Exchange Fellowship

Breakthroughs and insights now emerge regularly from the learning sciences. However, these insights are slow to be accepted and integrated into schools, family support systems, and the social consciousness in positive ways. Too often, new findings are either left to wilt in inaccessible academic journals, contorted by splashy headlines, or too complicated to lead to real policy changes.

This is why the Jacobs Foundation, together with the think tank New America and the International Congress of Infant Studies (ICIS) created a new fellowship: The Learning Sciences Exchange (LSX). The LSX aims to create a conversation between scientists, journalists, entertainers, and policy makers. The programme responds to the needs of all three sectors which are usually operating in isolation from each other.

The fellows hail from Europe and North America. Each participant enjoys time for cross-disciplinary thinking. Fellows have the opportunity to write about ways to bring ideas in learning sciences to fruition and how to communicate them with the greatest influence. We envision that the 12 fellows discuss key issues by forming three teams – each composed of four people (one person from each sector). A team approach provides amazing opportunities for individuals to explore each other’s thinking from the perspective of the sector in which each is an expert. The team also comes to appreciate how each sector typically deals with new issues.

Duration: 2018 – 2020

Scope: Stipend for each fellow of 5’000 USD

Costs: 400,000 CHF

Detailed Information and FAQs

 

Partner
Jacobs Foundation (sponsor)
New America (implementing partner)
International Congress of Infant Studies (implementing partner)

Jacobs Foundation
Cathrin Jerie
Seefeldquai 17
P.O. Box
8034 Zurich

talent@jacobsfoundation.org

 

  • Meet the Fellows (A-Z)
    Rob Carpenter

    Entertainment

    Rob Carpenter is a polyglot, the author of the forthcoming book “The 48 Laws of Happiness,” and has been a professor, startup entrepreneur, creative executive and entertainer. He currently directs the Emmy Award winning USC Media Institute for Social Change, and has worked on shows like Scandal, NCIS, Ballers, Lethal Weapon, and more. He passed a $40 billion transportation ballot measure in Los Angeles, and at 24 was appointed by the Mayor as the youngest Commissioner of Transportation in history. Carpenter previously sold a startup, volunteer-taught K-12 students in South Central LA and the Middle East, and released a celebrity-backed limited-edition fashion line benefiting humanitarian projects around the world. He is an active writer, producer, comedian, and actor in Hollywood, and is a leading millennial expert on entertainment education. He received his BA from Claremont McKenna College, MA from Northwestern University, and is finishing his doctorate at the University of Southern California.

    Sujata Gupta

    Journalism

    Sujata Gupta is an award-winning freelance science journalist whose writing focuses on issues related to food, ecology, and health. Her work has been featured in The New Yorker, NPR, Nature, High Country News, Discover, Scientific American, Wired, NovaNext, and New Scientist, among others. Gupta recently completed a Knight Science Journalism fellowship at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge, MA, where she focused on weaving science into fictional children’s stories. Prior to the fellowship, she taught journalism at Champlain College in Burlington, Vermont and worked as a reporter and editor at various newspapers. Gupta spent several years as an English teacher in Japan and as a National Park ranger.

    Melissa Hogenboom

    Journalism

    Melissa Hogenboom is a senior science multimedia journalist at BBC Global News, where she specialises in telling evidence-based stories for a general audience. She has a track-record of reporting exclusive and often experimental topics in video, text and radio – from going troll hunting in Iceland, to searching for her cosmic twin in a parallel Universe, to tracing the footsteps of the world’s last Neanderthals. She is interested in telling stories with impact that reflect our changing society, to help inform our understanding of the world and our place in it. Recently, this approach has led her to look at how music is helping her father’s dementia and how it may be key to understanding the brain, to investigating the subtle biases that exist in our education system, which further divide society. Most recently, Hogenboom visited a high security Dutch psychiatric prison, as part of an in-depth look at the mental health of female prisoners, many of whom are victims themselves – of mental health problems, and of crimes worse than their own. Her journalism has been recognized by multiple awards, including the Webbys, the Kavli Science awards, and the British Association of Science Journalism.

    Sacha Kyle

    Entertainment

    Sacha Kyle is an award-winning theatre and television director creating unique and inspiring productions for both children and adults. She holds a BA degree in Contemporary Theatre from the Royal Conservatoire Scotland and a Post Graduate degree in Play Therapy from Notre Dame Centre/University of Glasgow. Sacha is excited by creative risk taking and adventure and seeks to explore content which challenges form, structure and style in ways which are unusual or unexpected. It is this fusion of interest that has led to the creation of her original animated series in development for CBeebies, BBC and Sacha is also directing new television drama series for BBC children’s ‘Molly and Mack’. Working as a creative and artistic director within children’s education over the last 14 years she has also led theatre festivals around the world – most recently at La Rosey International school Switzerland and Marymount International school in Rome, Italy.

    Megan McClelland

    Research

    Megan McClelland, Ph.D., is the Katherine E. Smith Professor of Healthy Children and Families in Human Development and Family Sciences at Oregon State University (OSU). She serves as Director of the Early Childhood Research Core at the Hallie Ford Center for Healthy Children and Families at OSU. Her research focuses on optimizing children’s development, especially as it relates to children’s self-regulation, early learning, and school success. Her recent work has examined links between self-regulation and long-term outcomes from early childhood to adulthood, recent advances in measuring self-regulation, and intervention efforts to improve these skills in young children. She works with colleagues and collaborators around the world and is currently involved with a number of national and international projects to develop measures of self-regulation and improve school success in young children.

    Catherine de Lange

    Journalism

    Catherine de Lange is biomedical features editor at New Scientist magazine, where she commissions and writes articles across a range of subjects specializing in neuroscience, health, and genetics. In addition to New Scientist, her work has appeared in in New Scientist, Nature, The Observer, The Guardian, Nature Outlooks, The Washington Post, Cosmos Magazine, Slate, SciDev.Net, BBC Future, Green Futures, and more. She holds a bachelor’s degree in Human Sciences from University College London, and a master’s in Science Media Production from Imperial College London.

    Janna Pahnke

    Policy

    Janna Pahnke, Ph.D., is Head of Research & Monitoring at Haus der Kleinen Forscher, a nonprofit foundation based in Berlin focusing on early childhood education in Germany. There, she is responsible for the scientific basis of the foundation’s activities, for quality development, and the coordination of external studies and advisory boards. She holds degrees in psychology and child development from the University of Tuebingen and Tufts University in Boston, and a Ph.D. in cognitive development from the University of Heidelberg.

    Meredith Rowe

    Research

    Meredith Rowe, Ed.D., is a Professor at the Harvard Graduate School of Education. Her work focuses on uncovering how variations in children’s early communicative environments contribute to language development and in applying this knowledge to the development of intervention strategies for low-income families. Rowe received her doctoral degree in Human Development and Psychology from the Harvard Graduate School of Education in 2003 and then was a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Chicago for several years. In 2009, she was appointed Assistant Professor of Human Development at the University of Maryland, College Park, and she moved to Harvard in 2014. Rowe was the recipient of several grants from the National Institutes of Health, including a Pathway to Independence (K99/R00) early career Research Transition Award, and a recent Exploratory/Developmental Research Grant (R21) to fund her intervention work. Her research is published widely in top journals in education and psychology, including Science , Child Development , Developmental Science , and Developmental Psychology .

    Lisa Scott

    Research

    Lisa Scott, Ph.D., is an Associate Professor of Psychology at the University of Florida and Director of the Brain, Cognition and Development Research Laboratory. She received her Ph.D. from the Institute of Child Development at the University of Minnesota studying early brain development and the importance of early experience. She subsequently completed post-doctoral research at the University of Colorado examining the neural mechanisms underlying learning in adults. Scott’s program of research utilizes a multimethod approach to understanding how infants, children, and adults perceive and learn. Her research has been funded by the National Science Foundation since 2011, including a CAREER Award, she has been funded by the US Army Research Institute for the Social and Behavioral Sciences, and she has published in interdisciplinary journals including Psychological Science, Current Directions in Psychological Science, Child Development, Neuropsychologia, and The Journal of Cognitive Neuroscience, Developmental Science, and Infancy.

    Jill Shinderman

    Entertainment

    Jill Shinderman is the principal of Barclay Square Media, a creative development shop and producer of children’s media properties. With more than 20 years of expertise in animation and early childhood education, Shinderman continues to fuse research-based practices with creating content and experiences for youth and family audiences. She is the creator and executive producer for over twenty children’s and family cross-platform media properties, in addition to helming the boutique publishing venture, Barclay Square Books. With a background in education and the arts, her work and research has been presented at the American Educational Research Association and the American Evaluators Association. Shinderman serves on the Board of Trustees for the Westside Neighborhood School, and is a member of the California Institute of the Arts – Community Arts Partnership Council (CAP). She is also an Executive Producer and Writer for the award winning, PBS Kids series, Splash and Bubbles.

    Elizabeth Shuey

    Policy

    Elizabeth Shuey is a Policy Analyst at the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) where she works primarily on issues related to early childhood. She was formerly a Society for Research in Child Development (SRCD) Policy Fellow in the Office of Planning, Research and Evaluation (OPRE) in the Administration for Children and Families (ACF) within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. In the past, Shuey worked at RTI International, the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston, and was a Doris Duke Fellow for the Promotion of Child Well-Being. Shuey received her doctorate from the Eliot-Pearson Department of Child Study and Human Development at Tufts University and was recognized with the Society for Child and Family Policy and Practice (American Psychological Association Division 37) Dissertation Award. She also holds a Master’s degree in clinical psychology from The University of North Carolina at Greensboro and a Bachelor’s degree from Oberlin College. Shuey is committed to using research to inform policy and practice to better serve families with young children.

    Katie Whitehouse

    Policy

    Katie Whitehouse is the Program Manager for Early Childhood Success at the Institute for Youth, Education and Families at National League of Cities. She works to improve early childhood systems in cities across the country by building the capacity of mayors, city council members and city staff to implement policies and programs that support young children and their families. She enjoys thinking about how to integrate early childhood issues into other sectors and issue areas including community development, economic development, and transportation. Whitehouse holds a bachelor’s degree from Trinity University in San Antonio, TX and a master’s degree in public affairs from the University of Texas LBJ School of Public Affairs. In her free time, she enjoys riding her bike, reading the New Yorker, and eating her way around DC.

Learning Sciences Exchange Fellowship

Im Bereich der Wissenschaft des Lernens gibt es laufend neue Erkenntnisse, doch dauert es häufig lange, bis diese neuen Erkenntnisse akzeptiert werden, an Schulen und in Unterstützungsangeboten für Familien Anwendung finden und Einzug in das gesellschaftliche Bewusstsein erhalten. Viel zu oft verstauben sie in unzugänglichen Fachzeitschriften, werden in sensationsheischenden Überschriften falsch dargestellt oder sind zu kompliziert, um echte politische Veränderungen zu bewirken.

Daher hat die Jacobs Foundation, zusammen mit der Denkfabrik New America und dem International Congress of Infant Studies (ICIS) ein neues Fellowship geschaffen: den Learning Sciences Exchange (LSX). Der LSX soll zum Austausch zwischen Wissenschaftlern, Journalisten, Leuten aus der Unterhaltungsindustrie und solchen aus der öffentlichen Verwaltung beitragen. Damit reagiert das Programm auf Bedürfnisse in diesen vier Bereichen, die oftmals keine Berührungspunkte miteinander haben.

Die Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten stammen aus Europa und Nordamerika und bekommen die Gelegenheit, interdisziplinär zu arbeiten. Im Rahmen des Fellowships können sie darüber schreiben, wie man neue Ideen im Bereich der Wissenschaft des Lernens verwirklichen könnte, und wie man Erkenntnisse so kommuniziert, dass sie eine grösstmögliche Wirkung erzielen. Dabei sollen sich die zwölf Fellows in drei Gruppen mit je vier Teilnehmern (ein Experte aus jedem Bereich) mit den Schwerpunktthemen auseinandersetzen. Durch die Teamarbeit bekommen die Stipendiaten die Möglichkeit, die Themen aus der Sicht der verschiedenen Bereiche zu erörtern, und zu erfahren, wie die anderen üblicherweise mit neuen Aspekten verfahren.

Dauer: 2018 – 2020

Förderbetrag: Jeder Stipendiat erhält 5’000 USD sowie sämtliche Reisekosten

Budget: 400,000 CHF

Weitere Informationen und FAQs (in Englisch)

Partner
Jacobs Foundation (Trägerschaft)
New America (Implementierungspartner)
International Congress of Infant Studies (Implementierungspartner)

Jacobs Foundation
Cathrin Jerie
Seefeldquai 17
Postfach
8034 Zurich

talent@jacobsfoundation.org

 

  • Lernen Sie die Fellows kennen (A-Z)
    Rob Carpenter

    Unterhaltung

    Rob Carpenter ist auf vielen Gebieten bewandert. In Kürze erscheint sein Buch „The 48 Laws of Happiness”. Zuvor war er bereits als Dozent, Start-up-Unternehmer, Creative Executive und Entertainer tätig. Derzeit leitet er das USC Media Institute for Social Change, das bereits mit einem Emmy Award ausgezeichnet wurde, und hat an Shows wie Scandal, NCIS, Ballers und Lethal Weapon mitgearbeitet. In Los Angeles war Rob an einem erfolgreichen, 40 Milliarden $ schweren Volksbegehren im Bereich Transportwesen beteiligt und wurde vom Bürgermeister mit 24 Jahren zum jüngsten Commissioner of Transportation aller Zeiten ernannt. Zuvor verkaufte er ein Start-up, unterrichtete als Freiwilliger K-12-Schüler in South Central LA und im Nahen Osten und brachte mit prominenter Unterstützung eine eigene Modelinie in limitierter Auflage heraus, die humanitären Projekten weltweit zugutekam. Rob ist aktiver Autor, Produzent, Komiker und Hollywood-Schauspieler sowie ein führender Millennial-Experte für Edutainment. Er verfügt über einen BA des Claremont McKenna College, einen MA der Northwestern University und schliesst derzeit seine Doktorarbeit an der University of Southern California ab.

    Sujata Gupta

    Journalismus

    Sujata Gupta ist freiberufliche Wissenschaftsjournalistin für die Bereiche Ernährung, Ökologie und Gesundheit, die für ihre Leistung bereits ausgezeichnet wurde. Ihre Artikel erschienen unter anderem in The New Yorker, NPR, Nature, High Country News, Discover, Scientific American, Wired, NovaNext und New Scientist. Sujata hat vor kurzem ein Knight Science Journalism Fellowship des Massachusetts Institute of Technology, erfolgreich beendet, in dem sie sich mit der Verarbeitung wissenschaftlicher Themen in Kinderbüchern befasste. Zuvor lehrte sie Journalismus am Champlain College in Burlington, Vermont, und arbeitete als Reporterin und Redakteurin bei verschiedenen Zeitungen. Ausserdem verbrachte Sujata mehrere Jahre als Englischlehrerin in Japan und als Rangerin in einem Nationalpark.

    Melissa Hogenboom

    Journalismus

    Melissa Hogenboom ist leitende Wissenschaftsjournalistin bei BBC Global News und darauf spezialisiert, evidenzbasierte Artikel für ein Laienpublikum zu verfassen. Sie nutzt verschiedene Medien, wie Video, Text und Radio, und ist bekannt für ihre exklusive und oft experimentelle Berichterstattung: Trolljagd in Island; Suche nach dem kosmischen Zwilling im Paralleluniversum; Reise auf den Spuren der letzten Neandertaler. Melissa erzählt packende Geschichten, die den gesellschaftlichen Wandel widerspiegeln und zu einem besseren Verständnis unserer Welt und unseres Platzes darin beitragen sollen. In neuerer Zeit befasste sie sich beispielsweise mit Musik – wie sie ihrem an Demenz erkrankten Vater hilft und entscheidend dazu beitragen könnte, dass wir unser Gehirn besser verstehen. Ausserdem untersuchte sie die subtilen Vorurteile in unserem Bildungssystem, die zu einer weiteren Spaltung unserer Gesellschaft führen. Zuletzt besuchte Melissa ein niederländisches Hochsicherheitsgefängnis mit psychiatrischer Abteilung, um über die psychische Verfassung weiblicher Gefangener zu recherchieren, die oft selbst Opfer sind – Opfer ihrer psychischen Erkrankung und Opfer von Verbrechen, die schlimmer sind als ihre eigenen Taten. Ihre journalistische Leistung wurde mehrfach ausgezeichnet, unter anderem mit dem Webby Award, dem Kavli Science Journalism Award und von der Association of British Science Writers.

    Sacha Kyle

    Unterhaltung

    Sacha Kyle realisiert als Theater- und Fernsehregisseurin inspirierende Produktionen für Kinder und Erwachsene und wurde für ihre Leistung bereits mehrfach ausgezeichnet. Sie schloss den Studiengang Zeitgenössisches Theater am Royal Conservatoire of Scotland mit einem Bachelor ab und absolvierte anschliessend das Aufbaustudium Spiel Therapie am Notre Dame Centre der University of Glasgow. Sacha liebt kreative Risiken und Abenteuer und befasst sich gern mit Inhalten, die Form, Struktur und Stil auf ungewöhnliche oder unerwartete Weise in Frage stellen. So entstand beispielsweise ihre erste Zeichentrickserie für CBeebies/BBC. Ausserdem ist Sacha für die künstlerische Leitung der neuen TV-Dramaserie „Molly and Mack“ für BBC Children verantwortlich. Neben ihrer 14-jährigen Tätigkeit als kreative und künstlerische Leiterin im Bereich Kinderbildung organisiert Sacha Theaterfestivals weltweit – zuletzt am Institut Le Rosey in der Schweiz und an der internationalen Schule Marymount in Rom.

    Catherine de Lange

    Journalismus

    Catherine de Lange ist bei New Scientist als Redakteurin für biomedizinische Reportagen tätig und hat sich auf Neurowissenschaften, Gesundheit und Genetik spezialisiert. Sie gibt Artikel zu verschiedenen Themen in Auftrag oder verfasst diese selbst. Ihre Beiträge erschienen unter anderem auch in Nature, The Observer, The Guardian, Nature Outlooks, The Washington Post, Cosmos Magazine, Slate, SciDev.Net, BBC Future und Green Futures. Catherine verfügt über einen Bachelor in Human Sciences des University College London und einen Master in Science Media Production des Imperial College London.

    Megan McClelland

    Wissenschaft

    Dr. Megan McClelland ist Katherine E. Smith Healthy Children and Families Professor im Fachbereich Menschliche Entwicklung und Familienwissenschaften der Oregon State University (OSU) und Leiterin des Forschungsbereichs Frühe Kindheit am Hallie Ford Center für gesunde Kinder und Familien, ebenfalls an der OSU. Ihr Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt auf der Optimierung der kindlichen Entwicklung, besonders in Bezug auf Selbstregulation, frühkindliches Lernen und Schulerfolg. In neuerer Zeit hat sie die Zusammenhänge zwischen Selbstregulation und langfristigen Folgen von der frühen Kindheit bis ins Erwachsenenalter untersucht und sich mit der Messung von Selbstregulation sowie mit Interventionen zur Verbesserung dieser Kompetenz bei Kindern befasst. Sie arbeitet mit Kollegen und Partnern weltweit zusammen und ist derzeit an verschiedenen nationalen und internationalen Projekten beteiligt, um Messgrössen für Selbstregulation zu entwickeln und die Schulleistungen von Kindern zu verbessern.

    Janna Pahnke

    Öffentliche Verwaltung

    Dr. Janna Pahnke ist Leiterin des Bereichs Forschung und Qualitätsmanagement der Stiftung „Haus der kleinen Forscher“ in Berlin, die sich für frühkindliche Bildung in Deutschland einsetzt. Dort ist sie für die naturwissenschaftliche Basis der Stiftungsaktivitäten, für hochwertige Entwicklung und für die Koordinierung externer Studien und Beratungsausschüsse verantwortlich. Sie studierte Psychologie und Kindesentwicklung in Tübingen und an der Tufts University in Boston, und promovierte an der Universität Heidelberg im Bereich kognitive Entwicklung.

    Meredith Rowe

    Wissenschaft

    Dr. Meredith Rowe ist Professorin an der Harvard Graduate School of Education. Ihr Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Untersuchung verschiedener früher Kommunikationsumfelder von Kindern und deren Beitrag zur Sprachentwicklung. Das gewonnene Wissens fliesst in die Erarbeitung von Interventionsstrategien für einkommensschwache Familien ein. Meredith promovierte in Menschlicher Entwicklung und Psychologie an der Harvard Graduate School of Education im Jahr 2003 und war anschliessend mehrere Jahre lang als Postdoktorandin an der University of Chicago tätig. Ab 2009 arbeitete sie als Assistant Professor of Human Development an der University of Maryland, 2014 wechselte sie nach Harvard.

    Meredith erhielt mehrere Forschungsstipendien von den National Institutes of Health, darunter einen Pathway to Independence Award für Nachwuchswissenschaftler und in neuerer Zeit einen Exploratory/Developmental Research Grant für die Finanzierung ihrer Interventionen. Ihre Forschungsergebnisse wurden in verschiedenen erstklassigen Fachzeitschriften für Bildung und Psychologie veröffentlicht, unter anderem in Science, Child Development, Developmental Science und Developmental Psychology.

    Lisa Scott

    Wissenschaft

    Dr. Lisa Scott ist Associate Professor im Fachbereich Psychologie der University of Florida und Leiterin von Brain, der Forschungsabteilung für Kognition und Entwicklung. Sie promovierte am Institute of Child Development der University of Minnesota über frühe Gehirnentwicklung und die Bedeutung frühkindlicher Erfahrungen. Anschliessend forschte sie als Postdoktorandin an der University of Colorado über die neuralen Mechanismen, die dem Lernen bei Erwachsenen zugrunde liegen. Lisa verfolgt bei ihrer Forschung einen mehrmethodigen Ansatz, um besser zu verstehen, wie Säuglinge, Kinder und Erwachsene ihre Umgebung wahrnehmen und lernen. Seit 2011 erhält Lisa Forschungsgelder von der National Science Foundation, darunter auch einen CAREER Award. Ausserdem wurde ein Teil ihrer Forschung vom Forschungsinstitut für Sozialwissenschaften und Verhaltungsforschung der US-Armee finanziert. Wissenschaftliche Publikationen erschienen in interdisziplinären Fachzeitschriften, wie Psychological Science, Current Directions in Psychological Science, Child Development, Neuropsychologia, The Journal of Cognitive Neuroscience, Developmental Science und Infancy.

    Jill Shinderman

    Unterhaltung

    Jill Shinderman ist Inhaberin von Barclay Square Media, einem Unternehmen für kreative Entwicklung und die Produktion von Kindermedien. Mit mehr als 20 Jahren Erfahrung in Animation und frühkindlicher Bildung kombiniert Jill forschungsbasierte Praktiken mit der Schaffung von Inhalten und Erlebnissen für Jugendliche und Familien. Sie ist Urheberin und Produktionsleiterin von mehr als zwanzig plattformübergreifenden Medien für Kinder und Familien und leitet den Boutique-Verlag Barclay Square Books. Jill verfügt über eine Ausbildung in Bildung und Kunst und hat ihre Arbeit und Forschung vor der American Educational Research Association und der American Evaluators Association präsentiert. Sie ist Kuratoriumsmitglied der Westside Neighborhood School und im Komitee des Community Arts Partnership am California Institute of the Arts tätig. Ausserdem ist Jill Produktionsleiterin und Drehbuchautorin für die PBS-Kinderserie „Splash and Bubbles“.

    Elizabeth Shuey

    Öffentliche Verwaltung

    Elizabeth Shuey ist bei der Organisation für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (OECD) als Politikanalytikerin tätig und befasst sich primär mit Fragen der frühen Kindheit. Zuvor war sie im Rahmen eines Stipendiums der Society for Research in Child Development (SRCD) im Ministerium für Gesundheitspflege und Soziale Dienste der Vereinigten Staaten tätig. Ausserdem arbeitete Elizabeth für RTI International und die Federal Reserve Bank of Boston, und war Doris Duke Fellow für die Förderung des kindlichen Wohlbefindens. Sie promovierte am Eliot-Pearson Department of Child Study and Human Development der Tufts University. Für ihre Doktorarbeit wurde sie mit dem Society for Child and Family Policy and Practice Dissertation Award ausgezeichnet. Elizabeth verfügt zudem über einen Master in Klinischer Psychologie der University of North Carolina at Greensboro und einen Bachelor von Oberlin College. Sie setzt sich für die Berücksichtigung von Forschung in Politik und Praxis ein, um Familien mit kleinen Kindern besser gerecht zu werden.

    Katie Whitehouse

    Öffentliche Verwaltung

    Katie Whitehouse ist Programmleiterin für Frühkindliche Erfolge am Institut für Jugend, Bildung, und Familie der National League of Cities. Sie engagiert sich durch den Aufbau von Kapazitäten bei Bürgermeistern, Stadträten und Angestellten der Stadtverwaltung für die Verbesserung von frühkindlichen Systemen in Städten landesweit, damit Strategien und Programme zur Unterstützung von Kindern und deren Familien umgesetzt werden können. Sie befasst sich gern mit der Frage, wie man Massnahmen der frühen Kindheit auch in andere Sektoren und Bereiche integrieren könnte, wie beispielsweise in die Gemeindeentwicklung, die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung und das Transportwesen. Katie verfügt über einen Bachelor der Trinity University in San Antonio, Texas, und einen Master in Public Affairs der LBJ School of Public Affairs der University of Texas. In ihrer Freizeit fährt sie gern Rad, liest den New Yorker und isst sich quer durch Washington.