Jacobs Center for Productive Youth Development

As individuals transition from childhood to adolescence and then to adulthood, they face a number of social and occupational challenges. These transitions are a focus of research at the Jacobs Center for Productive Youth Development, which is located at the University of Zurich. The Jacobs Center, an innovative, interdisciplinary and international institution, conducts theory-based empirical research that takes into account individual, institutional and social influences.

It was established in 2003 as a joint venture of the Jacobs Foundation and the University of Zurich. In 2015, cooperation expanded as the Center became part of the Faculty of Arts and the Faculty of Economics, Business Administration and Information Technology at the University of Zurich.

At the Center researchers are studying the impact of various social, psychological and economic factors on the development of children and youth. In this context, three professorships and three assistant professorships were established in the fields of psychology, sociology and economics. The Center organizes international and national symposiums aimed at promoting a lively exchange of views among members of the international scientific community.

More Information

Jacobs Center for Productive Youth Development

Die Übergänge vom Kind zum Jugendlichen und später ins Erwachsenenalter sind voll von sozialen und beruflichen Herausforderungen, die junge Menschen zu bewältigen haben. Diese Übergangsphasen werden im Jacobs Center for Productive Youth Development an der Universität Zürich erforscht. Das innovative, internationale und interdisziplinäres Forschungszentrum ist auf theoriegeleitete empirische Jugendforschung ausgerichtet, die sowohl die individuelle, institutionelle als auch die gesellschaftliche Ebene umfasst.

Gegründet wurde das Jacobs Center 2003 als Joint Venture zwischen der Jacobs Foundation und der Universität Zürich. 2015 wurde die Zusammenarbeit ausgebaut und das Forschungszentrum wurde Teil der Philosophischen und der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Zürich.

Im Jacobs Center soll erforscht werden, wie sich unterschiedliche soziale, psychologische und ökonomische Faktoren auf die Entwicklung von Kindern und Jugendlichen auswirken. Dafür wurden insgesamt je drei Professuren und Assistenzprofessuren in den Bereichen Psychologie, Soziologie und Ökonomie eingerichtet. Zur Förderung eines regen internationalen wissenschaftlichen Austausches ist das Zentrum bestrebt, internationale und nationale Symposien zu organisieren.

Weitere Informationen