Jacobs Social Entrepreneur Fellowship

Today’s talented young people are the opinion leaders and decision makers of tomorrow. We want to introduce them early on to our areas of interest so that they can work with us to move forward in those areas in the future. Accordingly, the Jacobs Foundation provides support for young people in fields related to its thematic priorities.

With the social entrepreneurship program, the Foundation offers a range of support opportunities for young people in the social impact space such as MBA fellowships, loan forgiveness, or start-up funds in partnership with different schools in the US as well as in Europe. Fellows demonstrate a commitment to the Foundation’s thematic priorities and have an entrepreneurial vision for social impact. They either pursue an MBA focused on social entrepreneurship, nonprofit management, and social innovation or they are starting their own social venture, preferably in the field of early childhood development, education, or learning in either the US, Europe, or (West) Africa. While the expertise they acquire benefits the fellows themselves, it also plays an important role in the development and implementation of our programs in Europe and Africa.

Fellows first have to be accepted at a business school partnering with the Foundation before being eligible for the foundation’s social entrepreneurship program. Further eligibility criteria and information on the application process can be found on the partners’ websites.

 

Duration: Two years for each student
Partner: Haas School of Business der University of California Berkeley
MIT Sloan School of Management
Yale School of Management
The Wharton School at University of Pennsylvania
Said Business School at University of Oxford

Scope: 25,000 CHF per student per year

Jacobs Foundation
Dr. Urs Arnold
Seefeldquai 17
8034 Zurich

urs.arnold@jacobsfoundation.org

Business Fellows

  • 2017 - 2019
    Mark Adams

    Mark Adams has spent his career driving impact and outreach in the financial inclusion space of international development. He specializes in designing new projects and launching them in developing markets by building and leveraging strong relationships. Most recently, he worked in Kenya for 3 years at One Acre Fund, a social enterprise serving over 400,000 smallholder farmers across East and Southern Africa. He developed and led key early-stage work to engage other financial providers across the globe and advance rural financial inclusion. Previously, he managed operations at FINCA Zambia, a major global microfinance provider. His passion for economic development began during college while living, working and studying in South Africa and Senegal. He holds a bachelor’s degrees in Economic Development and French from Tufts University.

    I am immensely proud and excited to be counted among the Jacobs Business Fellows, and the first at MIT Sloan. I aim to use both the MBA and the Jacobs Network experiences to build out my skill set and learn from both the private and research sectors. The wealth and diversity of experience in the Jacobs Network will be a valuable resource in my goal to build better, more efficient, and more impactful development organizations. I also hope to make a contribution through the learning and perspective I’ve gained through field work, particularly to the Foundation’s TRECC project and Barry Callebaut’s work with cocoa growers in West Africa. I greatly look forward to collaborating with the Foundation and my co-Fellows.

    Cheikhou Diaw

    Cheikhou DIAW is a dual citizen of Côte d’Ivoire and France passionate about technology, clean-energy and education in Africa. As an LTE Expert, he has contributed to the success of technologies that have tripled the data speed of mobile phones in Europe, the middle-east, south-east Asia and the US.

    As one of the newest Jacobs fellow, Cheikhou plans to leverage the extensive resources of the foundation’s talent network to share ideas and heterogeneous expertise while promoting a marriage between technology and education as a powerful tandem that will help spread quality education across Africa.

    Elizabeth Lawton Kuriakose

    Elizabeth Lawton Kuriakose’s career has centered on the intersection between research and the public interest. Before joining the MBA program at UC-Berkeley’s Haas School of Business, Elizabeth was an Assistant Director at the Lucile Packard Foundation for Children’s Health. In her two years at the Packard Foundation, she worked to build an inspired community of donors supporting child health. She contributed to over $130 million of fundraising in private gifts and venture philanthropy. Earlier, she was a research assistant at the Pew Research Center in Washington, D.C., specializing in law, politics, and ethics. Elizabeth holds a bachelor’s degree in international politics from Georgetown University and a master’s degree from the University of Notre Dame.

     

    As a Jacobs Business Fellow, I plan to engage with the vast resources of the Jacobs organizations to strengthen my understanding of how to build and lead organizations that improve social health, especially by advancing the needs of young people. I have a special interest in education and am eager to dive into the studies of Jacobs researchers on the science of learning. I hope to build partnerships between business leaders, social entrepreneurs, and researchers, in order to ensure that the work of social enterprises and mission-driven businesses is based on the latest science. As an MBA student, I will build the skills to establish, scale, and operate both for-profit and nonprofit organizations. Participating in the Jacobs Talent Network will enable me to focus my learning and will bolster my passion for supporting youth, families, and communities.

    Catherine Soler

    Catherine Soler’s cross-sector experience has focused on creating social impact through both business and community engagement. Catherine began her career at Deloitte & Touche in New York. She then joined Catchafire, a startup social enterprise which provides a technology platform to connect professional talent to social good organizations. At Catchafire, she consulted with nonprofit organizations, and managed custom programs with Fortune 500 companies and global foundations to pioneer a new wave in philanthropy, resulting in over $1 million in impact created in the programs’ inaugural year. Prior to pursuing her MBA program at Berkeley-Haas, Catherine undertook extensive travel to transition her career into food and agriculture, and began her own international social impact consulting firm. Additionally, she serves on the Board of Trustees for Education Africa based in South Africa. Catherine has a strong interest in business’ role in both global food system development and education as means of poverty alleviation in Latin America and Africa. Catherine holds a bachelor’s degree in accountancy from the University of Notre Dame where she served as Student Body President.

    Through the Jacobs Fellowship, I plan to help build the Jacobs Talent Network community and define its vision and mission. I would love to bring the learnings from Jacobs’ research to nonprofit organizations, and engage with its work on TRECC to support sustainable global cocoa production and farmer empowerment. I’m looking forward to building relationships across sectors, learning from other fellows and contributing to their pursuits.

  • 2016 - 2018
    Amanda Eller

    Amanda Eller, who graduated from the George Washington University, Washington DC, with a Bachelor in International Affairs states: I am honored and grateful to be joining the Jacobs Network alongside an inspiring group of Fellows. Given my passion for entrepreneurship as a tool for economic development, especially in West Africa, I am excited to learn from the Jacobs Foundation’s deep experience working with corporate social responsibility programs to further social impact goals. 

    Amanda started her career on a Fulbright research grant in Benin, where she first became interested in social entrepreneurship. Most recently, she worked for SunFarmer, a startup building solar energy projects for hospitals and schools in developing countries. She was also a founding team member at a sustainable apparel startup, and helped start a solar energy company in Nepal.

    Victor Leclere

    Victor Leclere, who graduated from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, with a Bachelor of Science in Public Health states:
    “I am humbled and proud to be a part of the Jacobs Foundation and Talent Network. The Jacobs Foundation’s mission to impact child and youth development is inextricably linked to nutrition and access to health care services. As a Jacobs Fellow, I hope to learn more about the Foundation’s initiatives as well as provide insights and explore opportunities at the intersection development and health.”

    The 26-year-old fellow, born in France, has been advising greenfield hospitals and health systems in Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, and the United States over the past four and a half years.

     

     

    Tyler Saltiel

    Tyler Saltiel, who graduated from George Fox University, Newberg, Oregon, with a Bachelor in Business Administration says: I am delighted to join the Jacobs Talent Network and have the support of the Jacobs Foundation. I look forward to partnering with other fellows, researchers, and the full network to tackle the challenges facing children in West Africa who live in communities with limited resources. My career aim is to remove the barriers, such as lack of access to quality education, that prevent those in poverty from reaching their full potential and I am glad to be allied with the Jacobs Foundation in working to achieve this objective. 

    The 30-year-old fellow, born in the US, started his career at Deloitte providing audit services before becoming Controller at Partners In Health (PIH), a nonprofit organization bringing healthcare services to poor communities in West Africa and around the globe. In this role, Tyler led finance teams as well as oversaw finance and accounting processes at PIH’s headquarters and 12 country sites.

  • 2015 - 2017
    Hadiatou Barry

    Hadiatou Barry, who graduated from Georgetown University, Washington DC, with a Bachelor of Science in Foreign Service says:
    “I am proud and grateful to be part of the Jacobs Foundation legacy of expanding opportunities for youth across the world and nurturing ambition. I came to Berkeley Haas with the intention of leaving a social entrepreneur and the Foundation’s generosity has given me the courage to explore new ways to address education challenges in Africa and turn more dreams into reality.”

    The 26-year-old fellow, born in Guinea, has nearly four years of experience in backstopping and managing transformative and inclusive economic growth projects in East and West Africa.

    Nancy Cao

    Nancy Cao, who graduated from University of Michigan with a Bachelor of Arts in Economics, French and Francophone Studies expresses:
    “I am excited to embark on the next phase of my career with the support of the Jacobs Foundation. I believe that economic opportunity is most effectively created by the private sector, but without social mission becomes extractive and merely maintains the status quo: a global imbalance of income and influence. I hope to explore this tension through the Berkeley and Jacobs networks, and ultimately find a creative, profitable, and sustainable method for creating economic opportunity and growth in developing nations.”

    The 27-year-old fellow, born in the US, has been carving a career path from business to social impact for the past four and a half years. At a Nairobi-based education startup Cao is a founding member of the employer training team, and is leading the creation of an internal university for a solar energy company.

    Claire Markham

    Claire Markham, CFA, who graduated from Wilfrid Laurier University, Waterloo, Ontario, with a Bachelor in Business Administration emphasizes:
    “I am thrilled to be a Jacobs Fellow because I dedicate my career towards equalizing access to economic opportunity globally, and particularly access to education. It is a privilege to work towards that goal alongside the Jacobs Foundation, with its remarkable track record at improving education opportunity for vulnerable and underrepresented groups. As a Jacobs Fellow, I expect to gain valuable insight from the Jacobs Foundation team and from the other Berkeley-Haas Jacobs Fellows, and in turn share my own learnings in this field while at Haas and thereafter.” 

    The 29-year-old fellow, born in Canada, began her career working in a global infrastructure financing team with KPMG for three years. She then moved to Kenya to work with Kiva, a non-profit microlending organization, to explore how microfinance and social enterprise can be used to tackle some of the largest social and economic challenges.

Jacobs Business Fellows

Talentierte Nachwuchskräfte von heute sind die Meinungsführer und Entscheidungsträger von morgen. Diese sollen schon früh mit den Anliegen der Stiftung vertraut gemacht werden, um sie später mit voranzutreiben. Deshalb fördert die Jacobs Foundation Nachwuchskräfte, die zu den thematischen Schwerpunkten der Stiftung beitragen können.

In Kooperation mit der Haas School of Business an der University of California Berkeley ermöglicht die Jacobs Foundation seit 2015 drei Stipendiaten pro Jahr ein zweijähriges Laufbahnprogramm für Unternehmer (Entrepreneurship Career Program). Die Fellows absolvieren im Rahmen eines MBA-Programms eine fachliche Spezialisierung in den Bereichen Social Entrepreneurship, gemeinnütziges Management, soziale Innovation und Entwicklungsforschung. Ihr Expertenwissen soll einerseits Fellows aus dem Bereich Wissenschaft bereichern, anderseits in die Programmentwicklung und Umsetzung unseres Bildungsprogramms in der Elfenbeinküste einfliessen.

Die Stipendiaten sind unterschiedlichster Herkunft und kommen aus verschiedensten Fachrichtungen, wie beispielsweise Gesundheitswesen, Mikrofinanzierung, soziales Unternehmertum und Bildungswesen. Dank spezialisierter Module können sie ihre Lernerfahrung an persönlichen Bedürfnissen ausrichten und sich zielgerichtet beruflich weiterentwickeln.

Projektdauer: 2 Jahre, drei Stipendiaten pro Jahr
Partner: Haas School of Business der University of California Berkeley
Umfang: Vollstipendium, Kosten für Studium und Lebenshaltung werden übernommen

Mehr über das MBA-Programm: http://www.haas.berkeley.edu

Jacobs Foundation
Dr. Urs Arnold
Seefeldquai 17
8034 Zürich

urs.arnold@jacobsfoundation.org

Business Fellows

  • 2017 - 2019
    Mark Adams

    Mark Adams befasst sich im Bereich der internationalen Entwicklung mit finanzieller Inklusion, mit dem Ziel möglichst viele Menschen zu erreichen und eine grösstmögliche Wirkung zu erzielen. Spezialisiert hat er sich auf die Planung und Einführung neuer Projekte in Entwicklungsländern durch den Aufbau und die Nutzung starker Kooperationen. Zuletzt war er drei Jahre lang in Kenia für den One Acre Fund tätig, eine Non-Profit-Organisation, die 400.000 Kleinbauern im östlichen und südlichen Afrika Dienstleistungen anbietet. Mark entwickelte und leitete wichtige Programme in der Frühphase, um andere Finanzdienstleister weltweit mit ins Boot zu holen und die finanzielle Inklusion auf dem Land voranzubringen. Zuvor hatte er eine leitende Funktion bei FINCA Zambia inne, einer grossen, globalen Mikrofinanz-Institution. Seine Begeisterung für wirtschaftliche Entwicklung bildete sich während der College-Zeit heraus, als er in Südafrika und Senegal lebte, arbeitete und studierte. Mark hat einen Bachelor-Abschluss in Wirtschaftlicher Entwicklung und Französisch der Tufts University.

    Ich bin stolz und glücklich, Teil des Jacobs Netzwerks zu sein – und der erste Fellow an der MIT Sloan School of Management. Meine Zeit im MBA-Programm und im Jacobs Netzwerk möchte ich nutzen, um meinen Kompetenzbereich zu erweitern und sowohl vom Privatsektor als auch von der Forschungsgemeinschaft zu lernen. Das ganz unterschiedliche Know-how meiner Kollegen im Netzwerk wird mir dabei helfen, bessere, effizientere und wirksamere Entwicklungsorganisationen aufzubauen und damit eines meiner Ziele zu erreichen. Ausserdem hoffe ich, dass ich durch meine eigenen praktischen Erfahrungen wertvolle Beiträge leisten kann, besonders zum TRECC-Programm der Jacobs Foundation und zu Barry Callebauts Arbeit mit Kakaobauern in Westafrika. Ich freue mich sehr auf die Zusammenarbeit mit der Jacobs Foundation und meinen Kollegen.

    Cheikhou Diaw

    Cheikhou DIAW ist ivorischer und französischer Staatsbürger und setzt sich für Technologie, erneuerbare Energien und Bildung in Afrika ein. Als LTE-Experte hat er zum Erfolg von Technologien beigetragen, die die Geschwindigkeit der Datenübertragung auf Mobiltelefonen in Europa, dem Nahen Osten, in Südostasien und den USA verdreifacht haben.

    Als einer der neuesten Jacobs Fellows möchte Cheikhou den Ressourcenreichtum des Talent-Netzwerks nutzen, um Ideen und Erfahrungen auszutauschen und sich für eine Verbindung von Technologie und Bildung einzusetzen – ein starkes Gespann, das hochwertige Bildungsmöglichkeiten nach ganz Afrika bringen könnte.

    Elizabeth Lawton Kuriakose

    Elizabeth Lawton Kuriakose arbeitet an der Schnittstelle von Forschung und Gemeinnützigkeit. Vor ihrer Teilnahme am MBA-Programm der Haas School of Business der University of California war Elizabeth stellvertretender Direktor an der Lucile Packard Foundation for Children’s Health, einer Stiftung für Kindergesundheit. In ihren zwei Jahren bei der Packard Foundation baute sie eine rege Spendergemeinschaft auf, die sich für die Gesundheit von Kindern engagierte. Es war unter anderem Elizabeths Einsatz zu verdanken, dass 130 Millionen USD Spendengelder in Form von privaten Schenkungen und Venture Philanthropie erzielt wurden. Zuvor war sie als Forschungsassistentin am Pew Research Center in Washington tätig und dort auf Recht, Politik und Ethik spezialisiert. Elizabeth hat einen Bachelor-Abschluss in Internationaler Politik der Georgetown University und einen Master der University of Notre Dame.

    Als Jacobs Business Fellow möchte ich den Ressourcenreichtum der Jacobs Foundation nutzen, um besser zu verstehen, wie man soziale Gesundheitsunternehmen aufbaut und führt. Dabei geht es mir vor allem um die Verbesserung der Bedürfnisse junger Menschen. Ich interessiere mich besonders für Bildung und freue mich darauf, mich mit den Studien des Jacobs-Forschungsteams zur Wissenschaft des Lernens zu beschäftigen. Ich möchte Partnerschaften zwischen Wirtschaftsführern, Sozialunternehmern und Wissenschaftlern aufbauen, um sicherzustellen, dass die Arbeit von Sozialunternehmen und anderen Firmen mit sozialen Zielsetzungen auf neuesten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen beruht. Als MBA-Studentin werde ich mir die nötigen Fähigkeiten aneignen, um sowohl gewinnorientierte als auch gemeinnützige Organisationen zu gründen, weiterzuentwickeln und zu führen. Durch die Teilnahme am Talent-Netzwerk der Jacobs Foundation kann ich mein Wissen bündeln und mein Engagement für Jugendliche, Familien und Gemeinden ausbauen.

    Catherine Soler

    Catherine Soler geht es bei ihrer branchenübergreifenden Arbeit darum, soziale Wirksamkeit zu erzielen – durch die Einbindung von Unternehmen und Gemeinden. Catherine begann ihre Laufbahn bei Deloitte & Touche in New York. Anschliessend war sie für Catchafire tätig, ein neu gegründetes Sozialunternehmen, das auf einer Technologieplattform Fachkräfte mit gemeinnützigen Organisationen zusammenbringt. Bei Catchafire beriet Catherine NGOs und leitete massgeschneiderte Programme für Fortune-500-Unternehmen und weltweit tätige Stiftungen. Damit läutete sie eine neue Spendenära ein und erzielte im ersten Jahr des Programms eine Wirkung in Höhe von 1 Million USD. Vor Antritt ihres MBA-Studiums bei Berkeley-Haas unternahm Catherine zahlreiche Reisen, um sich beruflich weiterzuentwickeln und ihr Portfolio um die Bereiche Nahrung und Landwirtschaft zu erweitern. Ausserdem gründete sie ihre eigene Beratungsfirma für soziale Wirksamkeit. Darüber hinaus engagiert sich Catherine im Stiftungsrat von Education Africa mit Sitz in Südafrika. Sie interessiert sich insbesondere für die Rolle von Unternehmen bei der Entwicklung eines globalen Lebensmittelsystems und beim Einsatz von Bildung im Kampf gegen Armut in Lateinamerika und Afrika. Catherine hat einen Bachelor-Abschluss in Rechnungswesen der University of Notre Dame, wo sie ausserdem als Vorsitzende des Studierendenrates tätig war.

    Als Jacobs Fellow möchte ich das Talent-Netzwerk der Jacobs Foundation mit ausbauen und dabei helfen, eine Vision und eine Philosophie für das Netzwerk zu definieren. Ich würde die Forschungsergebnisse der Jacobs Foundation gern gemeinnützigen Organisationen bereitstellen und mich im Rahmen von TRECC für eine nachhaltige globale Kakaoproduktion und die Stärkung der Kleinbauern engagieren. Ich freue mich darauf, branchenübergreifende Kontakte zu knüpfen, von den anderen Fellows zu lernen und zur Erreichung ihrer Ziele beizutragen.

  • 2016 - 2018
    Amanda Eller

    Amanda Eller hat ihr Studium an der George Washington University in Washington DC mit einem Bachelor in International Affairs abgeschlossen.
    Sie sagt: „Ich bin dankbar und fühle mich geehrt, zusammen mit anderen motivierten Fellows Teil des Jacobs-Netzwerks zu werden. Ich interessiere mich ganz besonders für das Unternehmertum als Instrument für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung, vor allem in Westafrika, daher war ich begeistert als ich hörte, wie viel Erfahrung die Jacobs Foundation mit Corporate Social Responsibility zum Erreichen von Zielen zur sozialen Wirksamkeit hat.“

    Die 28-jährige Stipendiatin aus den Vereinigten Staaten begann ihre Laufbahn mit einem Fulbright-Forschungsstipendium in Benin, wo ihr Interesse für soziales Unternehmertum geweckt wurde. Zuletzt war sie für SunFarmer tätig, ein Start-up, das Solaranlagen für Krankenhäuser und Schulen in Entwicklungsländern baut.

    Victor Leclere

    Victor Leclere hat sein Studium an der University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill mit einem Bachelor of Science in Public Health abgeschlossen. Er sagt: „Ich bin froh und stolz, Teil der Jacobs Foundation und des Talent-Netzwerks zu sein. Der Einsatz der Jacobs Foundation für die Entwicklung von Kindern und Jugendlichen hängt unmittelbar mit der Ernährung und dem Zugang zu medizinischer Versorgung zusammen. Als Jacobs Fellow hoffe ich mehr über die Initiativen der Stiftung zu erfahren, sowie eigene Erkenntnisse beizusteuern und an der Schnittstelle von Entwicklung und Gesundheit Möglichkeiten auszuloten.”

    Der 26-jährige Stipendiat aus Frankreich war in den vergangenen 4,5 Jahren als Berater für neue Krankenhäuser und Gesundheitssysteme in Katar, Saudi-Arabien, den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten und den Vereinigten Staaten tätig.

     

     

    Tyler Saltiel

    Tyler Saltiel hat sein Studium an der George Fox University in Newberg, Oregon, mit einem Bachelor in Business Administration abgeschlossen. Er sagt: „Ich freue mich sehr, Teil des Talent-Netzwerks zu sein und von der Jacobs Foundation unterstützt zu werden. Ich freue mich auf die Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Stipendiaten, Forschern und den übrigen Mitgliedern des Netzwerks, um die Probleme anzugehen, mit denen westafrikanische Kinder in ressourcenschwachen Gemeinden konfrontiert sind. Mein Ziel ist es, Hindernisse zu beseitigen, beispielsweise den fehlenden Zugang zu hochqualitativer Bildung, damit auch in Armut lebende Menschen ihr volles Potenzial erreichen können. Und ich freue mich, zusammen mit der Jacobs Foundation an diesem Ziel arbeiten zu dürfen.“

    Der 30-jährige Stipendiat aus den Vereinigten Staaten begann seine Laufbahn bei Deloitte, wo er Audit-Dienstleistungen anbot. Anschliessend war er als Controller bei Partners In Health (PIH) tätig, einer Non-Profit-Organisation, die in armen Gemeinden in Westafrika und anderen Teilen der Welt Gesundheitsdienstleistungen erbringt. Tyler leitete die Finanzteams und betreute die Finanz- und Buchhaltungsprozesse am Hauptsitz von PIH und vor Ort in zwölf Ländern.

  • 2015 - 2017
    Hadiatou Barry

    Hadiatou Barry hat ihr Studium an der Georgetown University in Washington DC mit einem Bachelor of Science in Foreign Service abgeschlossen und sagt:
    „Ich bin stolz und dankbar, Teil dessen zu sein, was die Jacobs Foundation im Bereich der Chancenförderung und Motivation von Jugendlichen auf der ganzen Welt erreicht. Ich bin an die Berkeley Haas gekommen, um Sozialunternehmerin zu werden, und durch die Großzügigkeit der Stiftung habe ich den Mut gefunden, mich den Herausforderungen im Bildungsbereich in Afrika zu stellen und mehr Träume wahr werden zu lassen.“

    Die 26-jährige Stipendiatin aus Guinea verfügt über beinahe vier Jahre Erfahrung in der fachlich-konzeptionellen Betreuung und Leitung transformativer und integrativer Wirtschaftsförderungsprogramme in Ost- und Westafrika.

    Nancy Cao

    Nancy Cao hat ihr Studium an der University of Michigan mit einem Bachelor of Arts in Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Französisch und Frankophonie abgeschlossen. Sie sagt: „Ich freue mich, das nächste Kapitel meiner Karriere mit der Unterstützung der Jacobs-Stiftung schreiben zu dürfen. Ich glaube, dass Wirtschaftschancen am ehesten vom Privatsektor geschaffen werden können, doch ohne den sozialen Aspekt bleiben sie einseitig und erhalten gerade einmal den Status Quo: ein globales Ungleichgewicht bei Einkommen und Einflussmöglichkeit. Ich hoffe, dass ich diese Spannungen mit Hilfe der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Berkeley und der Jacobs Foundation aufdecken und schliesslich einen kreativen, profitablen und nachhaltigen Weg finden kann, um Wirtschaftschancen und -wachstum in den Entwicklungsländern zu fördern.”

    Der Werdegang der 27-jährigen Stipendiatin aus den Vereinigten Staaten führte sie in den letzten viereinhalb Jahren über die Betriebswirtschaft zum Schwerpunkt soziale Auswirkungen. Cao ist Gründungsmitglied des Teams für Mitarbeiterschulung in einem Bildungs-Startup mit Sitz in Nairobi und leitet die Gründung einer betriebsinternen Universität für ein Solarunternehmen.

    Claire Markham

    Claire Markham, amtlich zugelassene Finanzanalystin (CFA), hat ihr Studium an der kanadischen Wilfrid Laurier University in Waterloo, Ontario, mit einem Bachelor in Business Administration abgeschlossen. Sie betont:
    „Ich freue mich wahnsinnig über das Stipendium der Jacobs Foundation, da ich meine Karriere der weltweiten wirtschaftlichen Chancengleichheit, und insbesondere dem Zugang zu Bildung, gewidmet habe. Für mich ist es ein Privileg, gemeinsam mit der Jacobs Foundation, die über langjährige Erfahrung in der Verbesserung der Bildungschancen für schutzbedürftige und unterrepräsentierte Gruppen verfügt, an diesem Ziel zu arbeiten. Als Jacobs-Stipendiatin erhoffe ich mir, wertvolle Einblicke von den Mitarbeitern der Jacobs-Stiftung und von anderen Jacobs-Stipendiaten an der Berkeley-Haas zu erhalten und wiederum meine eigenen Erfahrungen auf diesem Gebiet während meines Studiums an der Haas und auch danach weitergeben zu können.“

    Die 29-jährige Stipendiatin aus Kanada hat drei Jahre lang bei KPMG in einem Team für globale finanzielle Infrastruktur untersucht, wie der Privatsektor zum Angebot traditionell in öffentlicher Hand liegender Dienstleistungen beitragen kann. Dann zog sie nach Kenia um mit Kiva zu arbeiten, einer Non-Profit-Organisation welche Mikrokredite erteilt. Sie untersuchte, wie Mikrofinanzierung und soziales Unternehmenertum verwendet werden können, um einige der grössten sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Herausforderungen zu bewältigen.