DIPF – Promoting Individual Learning

Educational Research and Educational Information

How can we gain a better understanding of the prerequisite of children’s learning, and how can we provide targeted support? A variety of issues – inclusion, gifted programs, the integration of immigrant children – are placing increasing demands on preschools and schools as they seek to accommodate diverse needs. This is where a new strategic partnership between the German Institute for International Educational Research (DIPF) and the Jacobs Foundation comes in.

In this partnership, DIPF researchers are studying the effects of such factors as sleep, stress and exercise on children’s cognitive performance and emotional well-being. Using smartphones in the classroom, they are conducting a survey on the factors that affect each child’s learning. The researchers’ findings will help to determine how best to tailor support to the needs of individual children.

These findings will also be used to design online courses and computer-based cognitive training programs. A position will be created for an assistant professor in the field of “psychology with an emphasis on individualized support,” who will focus on these issues. This professorship, which is another core element of the partnership, will be located at DIPF and Goethe University Frankfurt.

The Jacobs Foundation is investing a total of CHF 1.1 million in its strategic partnership with DIPF, which will continue for six years.

DIPF – Individuelles Lernen unterstützen

Bildungsforschung und Bildungsinformation

Wie kann man mehr über die Lernvoraussetzungen von Kindern erfahren und ihnen eine gezielte Förderung bieten? Inklusion, Begabtenförderung, Integration zugewanderter Kinder: Die Anforderungen an Kitas und Schulen steigen, gezielt auf die unterschiedlichen Lernbedürfnisse von Kindern einzugehen. Hier setzt eine neue strategische Partnerschaft mit dem DIPF (Deutsches Institut für Internationale Pädagogische Forschung) und der Jacobs Foundation an.

Im Rahmen dieser Partnerschaft untersuchen die Forscher am DIPF, welchen Einfluss Faktoren wie Schlaf, Stress oder Bewegung auf die kognitive Leistung und das emotionale Wohlbefinden von Kindern haben. Dafür werden in der Schule per Smartphone-Befragung die individuellen Lernvoraussetzungen von Kindern erhoben. Diese Daten helfen besser zu verstehen, wie man Kinder passgenau fördern kann

Die so gewonnenen Erkenntnisse sollen in Online-Kurse und computerbasierte kognitive Trainings einfliessen. Themen wie diesen wird sich auch eine Qualifikationsprofessur für „Psychologie mit dem Schwerpunkt individuelle Förderung“ widmen. Sie wird am DIPF und an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt angesiedelt und ist ein weiteres Kernelement der Partnerschaft.

Die Jacobs Foundation investiert insgesamt 1.1 Mio CHF in die über sechs Jahre angelegte strategische Partnerschaft mit dem DIPF.