Fortalezas – Integrating Young People into the Labor Market

Youth unemployment is a major issue in Latin America. Socially disadvantaged young people, in particular, have litte chance to enter the educational system or job market. Another problem is a lack of training programs geared to the needs of the labor market. To give young people better job opportunities, training programs need to be closely aligned to provide the graduates with the qualifications potential employers are looking for.

The five-year Fortalezas program, launched in 2012 by the Jacobs Foundation in cooperation with Fundación SES, sought to bring 2,000 young people into the labor market in Argentina, Brazil and Colombia.

In courses lasting approximately one year, 18- to 24-year-olds received technical training and help in developing their social skills – which are crucial for success in the workplace. Through close cooperation with the private sector, participants acquired the skills necessary for the job market. The program also helped them find internships with potential employers, making it more likely that they would be offered a job after completing training.

Programs are ultimately only as good as the partners implementing them. The organizational structures and procedures of the six partners that were to implement the program in Argentina, Brazil and Colombia were therefore professionalized prior to the program’s launch, so that Fortalezas could achieve its full impact. To ensure the program’s long-term effectiveness and build on what has been learned, the Jacobs Foundation is supporting Instituto Allianca and Micro Empresas with a sustainability prize that will continue beyond 2017.

Fortalezas – Jugendliche in Arbeitsmarkt integrieren

Jugendarbeitslosigkeit ist in Lateinamerika ein grosses Thema. Insbesondere sozial benachteiligte Jugendliche haben wenig Chancen, sich im Bildungssystem oder Arbeitsmarkt zu integrieren. Ein Problem ist auch der Mangel an Ausbildungsprogrammen, die den Anforderungen des Arbeitsmarktes entsprechen. Um den Jugendlichen bessere Jobaussichten zu bieten, sind deshalb Angebote wichtig, die in enger Abstimmung mit potentiellen Arbeitgebern für eine passende Qualifizierung sorgen.

Das Programm Fortalezas, eine gemeinsame Initiative der Jacobs Foundation und der Fundación SES, widmete sich ab 2012 fünf Jahre lang der Integration von insgesamt 2000 jungen Menschen in die Arbeitsmärkte von Argentinien, Brasilien und Kolumbien.

18- bis 24-Jährige erhielten in einjährigen Kursen eine fachlich-technische Ausbildung und trainierten gezielt die Entwicklung ihrer sozialen Fähigkeiten – wichtige Erfolgsfaktoren für den Einstieg ins Arbeitsleben. Dank einer guten Zusammenarbeit mit der Privatwirtschaft wurden in der Ausbildung Fähigkeiten vermittelt, welche auf dem Arbeitsmarkt nachgefragt werden. Damit am Ende möglichst viele Jugendliche eine Anstellung fanden, wurden ihnen zudem Praktika bei potentiellen Arbeitgebern vermittelt.

Programme sind nicht zuletzt auch so gut wie ihre Umsetzungspartner. Damit die Massnahmen von Fortalezas ihre volle Wirkung entfalten konnten, wurden vorab die Organisationsstrukturen und Prozesse der sechs Implementierungspartner in Argentinien, Brasilien und Kolumbien gestärkt und professionalisiert. Damit die Nachhaltigkeit gewährleistet ist und auf dem erarbeiteten Wissen aufgebaut werden kann, unterstützt die Jacobs Foundation die beiden Organisationen Instituto Allianca und Micro Empresas, mit einem Nachhaltigkeitspreis über das Jahr 2017 hinaus.