CIDER – Interdisciplinary Educational Research

Educational trajectories are complex and influenced by a multitude of factors, including background, school system and economic circumstances. For this reason, disciplines need to work together to gain a better understanding of educational processes. This means that every discipline needs to have basic knowledge of the others, and that structures to facilitate interdisciplinary discussion are in place.

The purpose of the College for Interdisciplinary Educational Research (CIDER) is to foster interdisciplinary cooperation in the field of education research. The College is funded by the Jacobs Foundation and the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), with the participation of the Social Science Research Center (WZB) and six other Leibniz Institutes.

A program of innovative supports is provided for postdocs in the fields of sociology, economics, psychology and education who are conducting empirical and interdisciplinary education research. Experienced researchers are available to assist them as they develop their projects, and regular workshops are held to provide an opportunity for the postdocs to share and discuss their work. The College focuses on three research areas:

  • educational disparities and unexpected success,
  • the development of competence as an educational and social process, and
  • the monetary and non-monetary returns of education.

www.ciderweb.org

CIDER – für interdisziplinäre Bildungsforschung

Bildungswege sind komplex und geprägt von vielen Einflüssen wie Herkunft, Schulsystem oder ökonomischen Voraussetzungen. Um Bildungsprozesse besser zu erforschen, ist die Zusammenarbeit unterschiedlicher Fachrichtungen besonders wichtig. Dazu braucht es Grundlagenwissen über die jeweils anderen Disziplinen sowie gefestigte Formen der interdisziplinären Diskussion.

Das Kolleg für interdisziplinäre Bildungsforschung (College on Interdisciplinary Educational Research – CIDER) hat zum Ziel, die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit in der Bildungsforschung zu verbessern. Das Kolleg wird von der Jacobs Foundation und dem Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) finanziert. Neben dem Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin (WZB) sind sechs weitere Leibniz-Institute beteiligt.

Mit einem innovativen Förderprogramm richtet sich das Kolleg an Postdoktoranden aus der Soziologie, Ökonomie, Psychologie und den Erziehungswissenschaften, die empirische Bildungsforschung betreiben und dabei die Grenzen der eigenen Disziplin überschreiten. Sie werden von erfahrenen Forschern bei der Entwicklung ihrer Projekte unterstützt und können sich in regelmässigen Workshops austauschen. Drei Forschungsbereiche stehen im Mittelpunkt:

  • Bildungsungleichheit und Erfolg wider die Erwartungen
  • Kompetenzentwicklung als Bildungs- und sozialer Prozess
  • (Monetäre und nicht-monetäre) Bildungserträge

www.ciderweb.org