BRISE – Initiative to Foster Early Childhood Development

Early childhood is the most important development phase in a person's life

Researchers in numerous countries have demonstrated that early childhood is the most crucial developmental phase in a person’s life. Development is affected not only by genetic factors, but also by a child’s environment. This is particularly true for children from socially and/or culturally disadvantaged families.

The longitudinal study being conducted in Bremen with the title “BRISE: Bremen Initiative to Foster Early Childhood Development” includes a number of targeted interventions for children during the first seven years of life. With a total of 1,000 children and families participating, the initiative will begin during the last few months of pregnancy and continue until children reach first grade. It will focus on children from socially or culturally disadvantaged families, and will support and evaluate their cognitive and social development from birth to school entry. The reference group is comprised of children whose families report taking advantage of programs offered in the city of Bremen.

The study seeks to identify the effects of coordinated interventions on early childhood development. It will also look at how programs might be modified to increase their impact and thus promote equality of opportunity in Bremen – and beyond.

Duration: 2018-2024

Cost: Approx. 18 Mio EUR / Jacobs Foundation’s part 2.8 Mio EUR

Partner:

the Senate of the City of Bremen

the German Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)

a scientific consortium

Website: www.brise-bremen.de

Jacobs Foundation
Muriel Langenberger
Seefeldquai 17
Postfach
8034 Zürich

muriel.langenberger@jacobsfoundation.org

BRISE – Initiative zur Stärkung frühkindlicher Entwicklung

Die frühe Kindheit ist die wichtigste Entwicklungsphase im Leben eines Menschen

Die frühe Kindheit ist die wichtigste Entwicklungsphase im Leben eines Menschen, das hat internationale Forschung gezeigt. Neben genetischen Faktoren spielen die Umstände, in denen ein Kind aufwächst, für dessen Entwicklung eine entscheidende Rolle. Dies gilt insbesondere für Kinder aus sozial oder kulturell benachteiligten Familien.

Die Bremer Initiative zur Stärkung frühkindlicher Entwicklung (BRISE) ist eine Langzeitstudie mit einer Reihe begleitender Förderangebote, die Kinder in den ersten sieben Lebensjahren mit gezielten Massnahmen unterstützt. Insgesamt werden 1.000 Kinder und Familien in BRISE einbezogen -beginnend von den letzten Schwangerschaftsmonaten bis zum ersten Grundschuljahr des Kindes. Die Kinder stammen aus sozial oder kulturell benachteiligen Familien. Die kognitive und soziale Entwicklung der teilnehmenden Kinder wird von der Geburt bis zum Schuleintritt gefördert und untersucht. Als Vergleichsgruppe werden Kinder betrachtet, deren Familien nach eigenem Ermessen die Förderangebote in der Stadtgemeinde Bremen nutzen.

Mit dieser Langzeitstudie soll erforscht werden, welchen Einfluss aufeinander abgestimmte Förderangebote auf die frühkindliche Entwicklung haben und wie möglicherweise Förderprogramme so angepasst werden können, dass sie noch wirkungsvoller sind und somit die Chancengerechtigkeit in Bremen und auch darüber hinaus erhöhen.

Laufzeit: 2018-2024

Budget: Rund 18 Mio EUR / Anteil Jacobs Foundation 2.8 Mio EUR

 

Jacobs Foundation
Muriel Langenberger
Seefeldquai 17
Postfach
8034 Zürich

muriel.langenberger@jacobsfoundation.org