Our Activities

For more than 25 years, we have devoted ourselves to promoting child and youth development all over the world. We provide various kinds of support for individuals and institutions active in research and practice, and we also operate our own programs.

With the complex social changes taking place in the world today, education is becoming increasingly important for success in life. Through our activities, we identify important issues and societal needs and work with our partners to find innovative ways to facilitate social change and produce lasting impacts.

Research generates knowledge. As it leads to a better understanding of child and youth development, research funding has always been a fundamental component of the Jacobs Foundation’s strategy.

Insights gained through research are particularly important for the development, evaluation, improvement and dissemination of interventions designed to benefit children and young people. Through intervention research, scientists are able to identify factors that can bridge the gap between research and practice.

In the interest of scientific progress, the Jacobs Foundation provides funding for some of the world’s leading and most innovative scientists in all scholarly disciplines that relate to child and youth development. These include psychology, educational sciences, economics, sociology, family research, media studies, political sciences, linguistics, neurosciences, biology, (epi)genetics and medical sciences.

The Jacobs Foundation cannot accept unsolicited project applications.

More Activities

Jacobs Foundation Research Fellowship Program

Highly talented and innovative young scholars and mid-career researchers working on child and youth development advance their research with a Jacobs Foundation Research Fellowship, which will improve the development and living conditions of children and youth.

Jacobs Young Scholars

Every year, senior scholars nominate approximately a dozen young scholars to participate in the Jacobs Foundation’s annual conference at Marbach Castle. Invitations are extended to outstanding postdoctoral researchers whose work is directly related to the focus of the conference.

Jacobs Foundation Conference

Every year since 1991, the Jacobs Foundation has held a conference at Marbach Castle on Lake Constance, attracting leading scientists and young scholars from all over the world.

CCLM Fellows

Can memory training boost children’s achievement and intelligence? To what extent is the development of a child’s motor skills correlated with learning in general? These are just some of the questions that the Center for Cognition, Learning and Memory (CCLM) is investigating.

LIFE Fellows

Lifespan research examines the gradual and systematic changes in behavior that take place over the course of a person’s life. By observing such changes, scientists are able to draw valuable conclusions about child and youth development.

CIDER – Interdisciplinary Educational Research

The purpose of the College for Interdisciplinary Educational Research (CIDER) is to foster interdisciplinary cooperation in the field of education research.

DIPF – Promoting Individual Learning

How can we gain a better understanding of the prerequisite of children’s learning, and how can we provide targeted support? A variety of issues – inclusion, gifted programs, the integration of immigrant children – are placing increasing demands on preschools and schools as they seek to accommodate diverse needs.

The Swiss Ed Tech Collider – A Modern Co-working Space

Society is changing, and so is education. Classrooms have entered the digital age. As a result, we not only need new teaching methods; we also need to introduce new educational technologies to the classroom.

Our projects in Switzerland and Germany focus primarily on early childhood. In this context, we seek to improve overall conditions and encourage the adoption of a comprehensive early childhood policy.

Through our past projects in Latin America and Africa, we have gained knowledge and experience that have been of great value for our international TRECC (Transforming Education in Cocoa Communities) project. In Ivory Coast, we are working to help transform education, both at the national level and in rural regions.

Current Projects

List of projects

TRECC – Changes in Education in Ivory Coast

Seeking to improve the living conditions of Ivory Coast’s cocoa farmers and their children, the Jacobs Foundation is working with public and private organizations to develop a sustainable ecosystem that will ensure access to high-quality education.

Ready! Early childhood is decisive

Ready! is a campaign throughout Switzerland that focuses on the formative early childhood years. It brings partners active in the early childhood sector together to work toward a comprehensive early childhood policy.

Primokiz2 – For an Early Childhood Policy

Primokiz2 connects all actors in the education, social, and health sector and supports them to develop a comprehensive policy on early childhood education thereby creating sound structural conditions.

QualiKita – Setting Standards for Daycare Centers

There are many different kinds of daycare centers. But what do we really know about them? In the interest of greater transparency, the Jacobs Foundation and kibesuisse, a Swiss organization in the early childhood education and care sector, launched the QualiKita initiative.

TIPI – A Mutual Understanding for Children’s Transitions

Ticino Progetto Infanzia (TIPI) aims to stimulate children’s development in the home, support their growth in the daycare setting, and ensure that they are well prepared for the transition to preschool and elementary school.

DKJS – Quality at the Local Level in Germany

The German Children and Youth Foundation (DKJS), the Jacobs Foundation and other partners are launching “Quality at the Local Level” in an effort to improve the quality of Germany’s early childhood education and care sector.

BRISE – Initiative to Foster Early Childhood Development

The longitudinal study being conducted in Bremen with the title “BRISE: Bremen Initiative to Foster Early Childhood Development” includes a number of targeted interventions for children during the first seven years of life.

Educational Landscapes Switzerland

To give every child the opportunity for a comprehensive, high-quality education in school and beyond, the Jacobs Foundation is encouraging innovative, systematic cooperation between school-based and extracurricular actors through its Educational Landscapes program.

Closed Projects

Primokiz

The “Primokiz”-program was designed for up to 25 small and medium-sized Swiss cities, to support their efforts in designing and implementing a comprehensive plan for integrated early childhood education and care.

Juvenir

Juvenir is a representative series of studies by the Jacobs Foundation that address topics affecting young people in Switzerland. What sets these four studies apart: Rather than talking about young people, Juvenir talks with them – and they are the ones who identify the topics that are important for them. In terms of methodology, the studies are based on the use of social media.

Fortalezas – Integrating Young People into the Labor Market

The five-year Fortalezas program, launched in 2012 by the Jacobs Foundation in cooperation with Fundación SES, sought to bring 2,000 young people into the labor market in Argentina, Brazil and Colombia.

Djigui – A Second Chance for Education in Burkina Faso

The word “djigui” means hope. All over the world, education holds the promise of hope for a better life. Since 2013, the Djigui project has given children and young people between the ages of 9 and 20 a second chance at an education.

Youth Development Project in Uganda

To improve the living conditions of a new generation of small farmers in Uganda, the Jacobs Foundation and the Hanns R. Neumann Stiftung launched the Youth Development Project, which operated in Uganda from 2013 to 2016.

Research

Research generates knowledge. As it leads to a better understanding of child and youth development, research funding has always been a fundamental component of the Jacobs Foundation’s strategy.

Insights gained through research are particularly important for the development, evaluation, improvement and dissemination of interventions designed to benefit children and young people. Through intervention research, scientists are able to identify factors that can bridge the gap between research and practice.

In the interest of scientific progress, the Jacobs Foundation provides funding for some of the world’s leading and most innovative scientists in all scholarly disciplines that relate to child and youth development. These include psychology, educational sciences, economics, sociology, family research, media studies, political sciences, linguistics, neurosciences, biology, (epi)genetics and medical sciences.

The Jacobs Foundation cannot accept unsolicited project applications.

More Activities

Jacobs Foundation Research Fellowship Program

Highly talented and innovative young scholars and mid-career researchers working on child and youth development advance their research with a Jacobs Foundation Research Fellowship, which will improve the development and living conditions of children and youth.

Jacobs Young Scholars

Every year, senior scholars nominate approximately a dozen young scholars to participate in the Jacobs Foundation’s annual conference at Marbach Castle. Invitations are extended to outstanding postdoctoral researchers whose work is directly related to the focus of the conference.

Jacobs Foundation Conference

Every year since 1991, the Jacobs Foundation has held a conference at Marbach Castle on Lake Constance, attracting leading scientists and young scholars from all over the world.

CCLM Fellows

Can memory training boost children’s achievement and intelligence? To what extent is the development of a child’s motor skills correlated with learning in general? These are just some of the questions that the Center for Cognition, Learning and Memory (CCLM) is investigating.

LIFE Fellows

Lifespan research examines the gradual and systematic changes in behavior that take place over the course of a person’s life. By observing such changes, scientists are able to draw valuable conclusions about child and youth development.

CIDER – Interdisciplinary Educational Research

The purpose of the College for Interdisciplinary Educational Research (CIDER) is to foster interdisciplinary cooperation in the field of education research.

DIPF – Promoting Individual Learning

How can we gain a better understanding of the prerequisite of children’s learning, and how can we provide targeted support? A variety of issues – inclusion, gifted programs, the integration of immigrant children – are placing increasing demands on preschools and schools as they seek to accommodate diverse needs.

The Swiss Ed Tech Collider – A Modern Co-working Space

Society is changing, and so is education. Classrooms have entered the digital age. As a result, we not only need new teaching methods; we also need to introduce new educational technologies to the classroom.

Practice

Our projects in Switzerland and Germany focus primarily on early childhood. In this context, we seek to improve overall conditions and encourage the adoption of a comprehensive early childhood policy.

Through our past projects in Latin America and Africa, we have gained knowledge and experience that have been of great value for our international TRECC (Transforming Education in Cocoa Communities) project. In Ivory Coast, we are working to help transform education, both at the national level and in rural regions.

Current Projects

List of projects

TRECC – Changes in Education in Ivory Coast

Seeking to improve the living conditions of Ivory Coast’s cocoa farmers and their children, the Jacobs Foundation is working with public and private organizations to develop a sustainable ecosystem that will ensure access to high-quality education.

Ready! Early childhood is decisive

Ready! is a campaign throughout Switzerland that focuses on the formative early childhood years. It brings partners active in the early childhood sector together to work toward a comprehensive early childhood policy.

Primokiz2 – For an Early Childhood Policy

Primokiz2 connects all actors in the education, social, and health sector and supports them to develop a comprehensive policy on early childhood education thereby creating sound structural conditions.

QualiKita – Setting Standards for Daycare Centers

There are many different kinds of daycare centers. But what do we really know about them? In the interest of greater transparency, the Jacobs Foundation and kibesuisse, a Swiss organization in the early childhood education and care sector, launched the QualiKita initiative.

TIPI – A Mutual Understanding for Children’s Transitions

Ticino Progetto Infanzia (TIPI) aims to stimulate children’s development in the home, support their growth in the daycare setting, and ensure that they are well prepared for the transition to preschool and elementary school.

DKJS – Quality at the Local Level in Germany

The German Children and Youth Foundation (DKJS), the Jacobs Foundation and other partners are launching “Quality at the Local Level” in an effort to improve the quality of Germany’s early childhood education and care sector.

BRISE – Initiative to Foster Early Childhood Development

The longitudinal study being conducted in Bremen with the title “BRISE: Bremen Initiative to Foster Early Childhood Development” includes a number of targeted interventions for children during the first seven years of life.

Educational Landscapes Switzerland

To give every child the opportunity for a comprehensive, high-quality education in school and beyond, the Jacobs Foundation is encouraging innovative, systematic cooperation between school-based and extracurricular actors through its Educational Landscapes program.

Closed Projects

Primokiz

The “Primokiz”-program was designed for up to 25 small and medium-sized Swiss cities, to support their efforts in designing and implementing a comprehensive plan for integrated early childhood education and care.

Juvenir

Juvenir is a representative series of studies by the Jacobs Foundation that address topics affecting young people in Switzerland. What sets these four studies apart: Rather than talking about young people, Juvenir talks with them – and they are the ones who identify the topics that are important for them. In terms of methodology, the studies are based on the use of social media.

Fortalezas – Integrating Young People into the Labor Market

The five-year Fortalezas program, launched in 2012 by the Jacobs Foundation in cooperation with Fundación SES, sought to bring 2,000 young people into the labor market in Argentina, Brazil and Colombia.

Djigui – A Second Chance for Education in Burkina Faso

The word “djigui” means hope. All over the world, education holds the promise of hope for a better life. Since 2013, the Djigui project has given children and young people between the ages of 9 and 20 a second chance at an education.

Youth Development Project in Uganda

To improve the living conditions of a new generation of small farmers in Uganda, the Jacobs Foundation and the Hanns R. Neumann Stiftung launched the Youth Development Project, which operated in Uganda from 2013 to 2016.

Unsere Aktivitäten

Seit mehr als 25 Jahren setzen wir uns weltweit für Kinder- und Jugendentwicklung ein. Wir unterstützen Akteure und Institutionen aus Forschung und Praxis auf vielfältige Weise und leiten eigene Programme.

Angesichts komplexer gesellschaftlicher Entwicklungen wird Bildung zunehmend zum Erfolgsfaktor. Deshalb leiten wir aus unseren Aktivitäten wichtige Kernfragen und Bedürfnisse der Gesellschaft ab und gelangen gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern zu innovativen Handlungsansätzen, die sozialen Wandel ermöglichen und nachhaltige Effekte haben.

Forschung schafft Wissen. Sie erlaubt es, die Entwicklung von Kindern und Jugendlichen besser zu verstehen. Darum ist die Forschungsförderung seit der Gründung der Jacobs Foundation ein grundlegendes strategisches Element.

Gerade bei der Entwicklung, Evaluation, Verbesserung und Verbreitung von Interventionen und Programmen für Kinder und Jugendliche leisten Forschungsergebnisse einen entscheidenden Beitrag. Interventionsforschung identifiziert jene Faktoren, welche die Lücke zwischen Forschung und Praxis schliessen können.

Um den wissenschaftlichen Fortschritt zu fördern, unterstützt die Jacobs Foundation die weltweit führenden und innovativsten Wissenschaftler in allen Forschungsdisziplinen der Kinder- und Jugendentwicklung. Dazu gehören Psychologie, Erziehungs- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Soziologie, Familienforschung, Medienwissenschaften, Politikwissenschaft, Sprachwissenschaft, Neurowissenschaften, Biologie, (Epi-)Genetik und Medizin.

Die Jacobs Foundation nimmt keine unaufgeforderten Projektanträge entgegen.

Weitere Aktivitäten

Jacobs Foundation Research Fellowship Program

Wissenschaftler aus verschiedenen Forschungsdisziplinen sollen sich in der Kinder- und Jugendforschung gezielt weiterentwickeln können, um mit ihrer Forschungsarbeit die Entwicklungs und Lernbedingungen von Kindern und Jugendlichen nachhaltig zu verbessern.

Jacobs Young Scholars

Etablierte Wissenschaftler schlagen jährlich rund ein Dutzend Nachwuchswissenschaftler zur Teilnahme an der Jacobs Foundation Conference vor. Zur Konferenz zugelassen werden herausragende Postdoktoranden, deren Forschungsarbeit zum jeweiligen Thema der jährlich stattfindenden Konferenz passt.

Jacobs Foundation Conference

Auf Schloss Marbach am Bodensee findet seit 1991 jedes Jahr die Jacobs Foundation Conference statt, zu der führende Wissenschaftler und Nachwuchsforscher aus aller Welt zusammenkommen.

CCLM Fellows

Kann Gedächtnistraining bei Schulkindern deren Leistung und Intelligenz verbessern? Wie korreliert die Entwicklung der motorischen Fähigkeiten eines Kindes mit dessen allgemeinem Lernverhalten? Solchen und weiteren Fragen widmet sich das Center for Cognition, Learning and Memory (CCLM).

LIFE Fellows

Die Lebensspannenforschung untersucht die systematische, sich allmählich vollziehende Veränderung des menschlichen Verhaltens im Verlauf des Lebens. Die Jacobs Foundation unterstützt Doktoranden der Universität Zürich, die an «The Life Course: Evolutionary and Ontogenetic Dynamics» (LIFE) teilnehmen.

CIDER – für interdisziplinäre Bildungsforschung

Das Kolleg für interdisziplinäre Bildungsforschung (College on Interdisciplinary Educational Research – CIDER) hat zum Ziel, die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit in der Bildungsforschung zu verbessern.

Der Swiss Ed Tech Collider

Der Swiss EdTech Collider wird sich mit neuen Methoden und Lösungen den Herausforderungen der digitalen Gesellschaft stellen, vom Kindergarten bis hin zur privaten und betrieblichen Weiterbildung.

DIPF – Individuelles Lernen unterstützen

Die Anforderungen an Kitas und Schulen steigen, gezielt auf die unterschiedlichen Lernbedürfnisse von Kindern einzugehen. Hier setzt eine neue strategische Partnerschaft des Deutschen Instituts für Internationale Pädagogische Forschung (DIPF) und der Jacobs Foundation an.

In der Schweiz und Deutschland unterstützt und implementiert die Jacobs Foundation hauptsächlich Programme und Projekte in der frühen Kindheit. Dabei liegt der Fokus auf der Verbesserung der Rahmenbedingungen zugunsten einer umfassenden Politik der frühen Kindheit.

Die langjährigen Erfahrungen aus vergangenen Projekten in Lateinamerika und Afrika fliessen als gebündeltes Wissen in das internationale Projekt TRECC (Transforming Education in Cocoa Communities). Die Jacobs Foundation setzt sich in der Elfenbeinküste auf nationaler Ebene und in ländlichen Regionen für einen Bildungswandel ein.

Laufende Projekte

Projektliste

TRECC – Bildungswandel in der Elfenbeinküste

Die Jacobs Foundation entwickelt gemeinsam mit öffentlichen und privaten Organisationen ein nachhaltiges Ökosystem, das den Zugang zu qualitativ hochwertiger Bildung gewährleistet, um die Lebensbedingungen der Kakaobauern und deren Kinder in der Elfenbeinküste zu verbessern.

Ready! Frühe Kindheit ist entscheidend

Ready! ist eine schweizweite Kampagne, die sich mit den prägenden Jahren der frühen Kindheit auseinandersetzt. Ziel ist es, dass sich die Partner im Frühbereich zusammenschliessen und gemeinsam für eine umfassende Politik der frühen Kindheit eintreten.

Primokiz2– Für eine Politik der frühen Kindheit

Primokiz2 vernetzt die Akteure in den Bereichen Bildung, Soziales, und Gesundheit und unterstützt sie darin, eine umfassende Politik der frühen Kindheit zu entwickeln, um gute strukturelle Rahmenbedingungen zu schaffen.

QualiKita

Die Vielfalt der Kindertagesstätten ist gross. Doch was steckt unter der Oberfläche? Um mehr Transparenz zu schaffen, haben die Jacobs Foundation und kibesuisse (Verband Kinderbetreuung Schweiz) QualiKita entwickelt.

TIPI – Für eine gemeinsame Kindheitskultur

Das Ticino Progetto Infanzia (TIPI) möchte, dass Kinder beim Eintritt in den Kindergarten und die Schule eine gerechte Chance haben, unabhängig welchen kulturellen oder sozialen Hintergrund die Familie mitbringt.

DKJS – Qualität vor Ort

Mit dem Programm Qualität vor Ort schaffen die Deutsche Kinder- und Jugendstiftung (DKJS), das Bundesministerium für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend (BMFSFJ) und die Jacobs Foundation eine Bewegung für gute Qualität in der frühkindlichen Bildung, Betreuung und Erziehung in Deutschland.

BRISE – Initiative zur Stärkung frühkindlicher Entwicklung

Die Bremer Initiative zur Stärkung frühkindlicher Entwicklung (BRISE) ist eine Langzeitstudie mit einer Reihe begleitender Förderangebote, die Kinder in den ersten sieben Lebensjahren mit gezielten Massnahmen unterstützt.

Bildungslandschaften Schweiz

Um Kindern und Jugendlichen gleichberechtigte Chancen auf eine umfassende Bildungsqualität über die Schule hinaus zu ermöglichen, fördert die Jacobs Foundation die innovative und systematische Zusammenarbeit von schulischen und ausserschulischen Akteuren.

Abgeschlossene Projekte

Primokiz

Das Programm „Primokiz – Frühe Förderung lokal vernetzt“, richtete sich an bis zu 25 kleinere und mittlere Schweizer Städte, um Angebote in der frühen Kindheit in einem Konzept zusammenzufassen.

Juvenir

Juvenir ist eine repräsentative Studienreihe der Jacobs Foundation zu Themen, die Schweizer Jugendliche betreffen. Das Besondere der vier Studien: Juvenir spricht nicht über sondern mit Jugendlichen – die Themen werden von ihnen selbst als für sie wichtig identifiziert. Methodisch basieren die Studien auf dem Einsatz von Social Media.

Fortalezas – Integration Jugendlicher in den Arbeitsmarkt

Das Programm Fortalezas, eine gemeinsame Initiative der Jacobs Foundation und der Fundación SES, widmete sich ab 2012 fünf Jahre lang der Integration von insgesamt 2000 jungen Menschen in die Arbeitsmärkte von Argentinien, Brasilien und Kolumbien.

Djigui – eine zweite Chance auf Bildung in Burkina Faso

Djigui heisst übersetzt Hoffnung. Die Hoffnung auf ein besseres Leben ist auf der ganzen Welt eng mit Bildung verbunden. Das Projekt Djigui bietet seit 2013 jungen Menschen zwischen 9 und 20 Jahren eine zweite Chance auf Schulbildung.

Youth Development in Uganda

Um die Lebensbedingungen einer neuen Generation von Kleinbauern in Uganda zu verbessern, setzte die Jacobs Foundation von 2013 bis 2016 mit der Hanns R. Neumann Stiftung das Youth Development Projekt in Uganda um.

Forschung

Forschung schafft Wissen. Sie erlaubt es, die Entwicklung von Kindern und Jugendlichen besser zu verstehen. Darum ist die Forschungsförderung seit der Gründung der Jacobs Foundation ein grundlegendes strategisches Element.

Gerade bei der Entwicklung, Evaluation, Verbesserung und Verbreitung von Interventionen und Programmen für Kinder und Jugendliche leisten Forschungsergebnisse einen entscheidenden Beitrag. Interventionsforschung identifiziert jene Faktoren, welche die Lücke zwischen Forschung und Praxis schliessen können.

Um den wissenschaftlichen Fortschritt zu fördern, unterstützt die Jacobs Foundation die weltweit führenden und innovativsten Wissenschaftler in allen Forschungsdisziplinen der Kinder- und Jugendentwicklung. Dazu gehören Psychologie, Erziehungs- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Soziologie, Familienforschung, Medienwissenschaften, Politikwissenschaft, Sprachwissenschaft, Neurowissenschaften, Biologie, (Epi-)Genetik und Medizin.

Die Jacobs Foundation nimmt keine unaufgeforderten Projektanträge entgegen.

Weitere Aktivitäten

Jacobs Foundation Research Fellowship Program

Wissenschaftler aus verschiedenen Forschungsdisziplinen sollen sich in der Kinder- und Jugendforschung gezielt weiterentwickeln können, um mit ihrer Forschungsarbeit die Entwicklungs und Lernbedingungen von Kindern und Jugendlichen nachhaltig zu verbessern.

Jacobs Young Scholars

Etablierte Wissenschaftler schlagen jährlich rund ein Dutzend Nachwuchswissenschaftler zur Teilnahme an der Jacobs Foundation Conference vor. Zur Konferenz zugelassen werden herausragende Postdoktoranden, deren Forschungsarbeit zum jeweiligen Thema der jährlich stattfindenden Konferenz passt.

Jacobs Foundation Conference

Auf Schloss Marbach am Bodensee findet seit 1991 jedes Jahr die Jacobs Foundation Conference statt, zu der führende Wissenschaftler und Nachwuchsforscher aus aller Welt zusammenkommen.

CCLM Fellows

Kann Gedächtnistraining bei Schulkindern deren Leistung und Intelligenz verbessern? Wie korreliert die Entwicklung der motorischen Fähigkeiten eines Kindes mit dessen allgemeinem Lernverhalten? Solchen und weiteren Fragen widmet sich das Center for Cognition, Learning and Memory (CCLM).

LIFE Fellows

Die Lebensspannenforschung untersucht die systematische, sich allmählich vollziehende Veränderung des menschlichen Verhaltens im Verlauf des Lebens. Die Jacobs Foundation unterstützt Doktoranden der Universität Zürich, die an «The Life Course: Evolutionary and Ontogenetic Dynamics» (LIFE) teilnehmen.

CIDER – für interdisziplinäre Bildungsforschung

Das Kolleg für interdisziplinäre Bildungsforschung (College on Interdisciplinary Educational Research – CIDER) hat zum Ziel, die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit in der Bildungsforschung zu verbessern.

Der Swiss Ed Tech Collider

Der Swiss EdTech Collider wird sich mit neuen Methoden und Lösungen den Herausforderungen der digitalen Gesellschaft stellen, vom Kindergarten bis hin zur privaten und betrieblichen Weiterbildung.

DIPF – Individuelles Lernen unterstützen

Die Anforderungen an Kitas und Schulen steigen, gezielt auf die unterschiedlichen Lernbedürfnisse von Kindern einzugehen. Hier setzt eine neue strategische Partnerschaft des Deutschen Instituts für Internationale Pädagogische Forschung (DIPF) und der Jacobs Foundation an.

Praxis

In der Schweiz und Deutschland unterstützt und implementiert die Jacobs Foundation hauptsächlich Programme und Projekte in der frühen Kindheit. Dabei liegt der Fokus auf der Verbesserung der Rahmenbedingungen zugunsten einer umfassenden Politik der frühen Kindheit.

Die langjährigen Erfahrungen aus vergangenen Projekten in Lateinamerika und Afrika fliessen als gebündeltes Wissen in das internationale Projekt TRECC (Transforming Education in Cocoa Communities). Die Jacobs Foundation setzt sich in der Elfenbeinküste auf nationaler Ebene und in ländlichen Regionen für einen Bildungswandel ein.

Laufende Projekte

Projektliste

TRECC – Bildungswandel in der Elfenbeinküste

Die Jacobs Foundation entwickelt gemeinsam mit öffentlichen und privaten Organisationen ein nachhaltiges Ökosystem, das den Zugang zu qualitativ hochwertiger Bildung gewährleistet, um die Lebensbedingungen der Kakaobauern und deren Kinder in der Elfenbeinküste zu verbessern.

Ready! Frühe Kindheit ist entscheidend

Ready! ist eine schweizweite Kampagne, die sich mit den prägenden Jahren der frühen Kindheit auseinandersetzt. Ziel ist es, dass sich die Partner im Frühbereich zusammenschliessen und gemeinsam für eine umfassende Politik der frühen Kindheit eintreten.

Primokiz2– Für eine Politik der frühen Kindheit

Primokiz2 vernetzt die Akteure in den Bereichen Bildung, Soziales, und Gesundheit und unterstützt sie darin, eine umfassende Politik der frühen Kindheit zu entwickeln, um gute strukturelle Rahmenbedingungen zu schaffen.

QualiKita

Die Vielfalt der Kindertagesstätten ist gross. Doch was steckt unter der Oberfläche? Um mehr Transparenz zu schaffen, haben die Jacobs Foundation und kibesuisse (Verband Kinderbetreuung Schweiz) QualiKita entwickelt.

TIPI – Für eine gemeinsame Kindheitskultur

Das Ticino Progetto Infanzia (TIPI) möchte, dass Kinder beim Eintritt in den Kindergarten und die Schule eine gerechte Chance haben, unabhängig welchen kulturellen oder sozialen Hintergrund die Familie mitbringt.

DKJS – Qualität vor Ort

Mit dem Programm Qualität vor Ort schaffen die Deutsche Kinder- und Jugendstiftung (DKJS), das Bundesministerium für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend (BMFSFJ) und die Jacobs Foundation eine Bewegung für gute Qualität in der frühkindlichen Bildung, Betreuung und Erziehung in Deutschland.

BRISE – Initiative zur Stärkung frühkindlicher Entwicklung

Die Bremer Initiative zur Stärkung frühkindlicher Entwicklung (BRISE) ist eine Langzeitstudie mit einer Reihe begleitender Förderangebote, die Kinder in den ersten sieben Lebensjahren mit gezielten Massnahmen unterstützt.

Bildungslandschaften Schweiz

Um Kindern und Jugendlichen gleichberechtigte Chancen auf eine umfassende Bildungsqualität über die Schule hinaus zu ermöglichen, fördert die Jacobs Foundation die innovative und systematische Zusammenarbeit von schulischen und ausserschulischen Akteuren.

Abgeschlossene Projekte

Primokiz

Das Programm „Primokiz – Frühe Förderung lokal vernetzt“, richtete sich an bis zu 25 kleinere und mittlere Schweizer Städte, um Angebote in der frühen Kindheit in einem Konzept zusammenzufassen.

Juvenir

Juvenir ist eine repräsentative Studienreihe der Jacobs Foundation zu Themen, die Schweizer Jugendliche betreffen. Das Besondere der vier Studien: Juvenir spricht nicht über sondern mit Jugendlichen – die Themen werden von ihnen selbst als für sie wichtig identifiziert. Methodisch basieren die Studien auf dem Einsatz von Social Media.

Fortalezas – Integration Jugendlicher in den Arbeitsmarkt

Das Programm Fortalezas, eine gemeinsame Initiative der Jacobs Foundation und der Fundación SES, widmete sich ab 2012 fünf Jahre lang der Integration von insgesamt 2000 jungen Menschen in die Arbeitsmärkte von Argentinien, Brasilien und Kolumbien.

Djigui – eine zweite Chance auf Bildung in Burkina Faso

Djigui heisst übersetzt Hoffnung. Die Hoffnung auf ein besseres Leben ist auf der ganzen Welt eng mit Bildung verbunden. Das Projekt Djigui bietet seit 2013 jungen Menschen zwischen 9 und 20 Jahren eine zweite Chance auf Schulbildung.

Youth Development in Uganda

Um die Lebensbedingungen einer neuen Generation von Kleinbauern in Uganda zu verbessern, setzte die Jacobs Foundation von 2013 bis 2016 mit der Hanns R. Neumann Stiftung das Youth Development Projekt in Uganda um.