Planting the Love of Reading

Rana Dajani, Founder of the We love Reading (WLR) program has developed an innovative model that provides a practical, cost efficient, sustainable, grassroots approach that involves youth, women and men and the community to increase reading levels among children by focusing on the read aloud experience to plant the love of reading. We Love Reading started in Jordan, and has spread to 35 countries, becoming a social movement.

The WLR program constitutes training to local youth, women and men to hold reading sessions in public spaces where books are routinely read aloud to children in their native language in their neighborhoods. To date WLR has trained 3,460 youth, women and men, established 1,570 WLR libraries all over Jordan and enriched the lives of over 50,000 children. WLR conducted more than 100,000 reading sessions and printed and distributed over 300,000 children’s books all over Jordan.

Rana Dajani receives one of ten 2018 Klaus J. Jacobs Awards for social innovation and engagement. With the award money of CHF 100,000 Rana Dajani plans to upgrade the online training course on how to start We Love Reading in your community by introducing the latest technology and pedagogical tools and offering additional languages.

Founder of We Love Reading, Rana Dajani.

“Reading can unlock children’s hidden potential to become change makers.”

 

The WLR program does not require any infrastructure, simply a volunteer and some books. The model can be implemented at low cost and on the spot and has the potential to reach many more children across the world. WLR chooses books that are age appropriate, attractive, neutral in content, in the native language of the child. In addition to promoting the experience of reading, it empowers youth and women readers to become leaders in their communities, builds ownership in the children and community members and serves as a platform for raising awareness on issues such as health and environment by reading stories about such issues.

In 2018, the Jacobs Foundation bestows 10 awards to social innovators and change makers in the field of child and youth development. Each award will come with an amount of CHF 100’000. The recipients provide solutions for positive child and youth development at low cost, which are sustainable and can be easily implemented on the spot. What the ten awardees have in common is their wish for social change and their restless personal social engagement. They are beyond talking – they act.

Lesefreude wecken

Rana Dajani ist Gründerin von We love Reading (WLR), einem innovativen, praxisnahen, kostengünstigen und nachhaltigen Programm, das Jugendliche, Frauen, Männer und die gesamte Gemeinschaft mit einbezieht, um durch Vorlesen die Lesefähigkeit von Kindern zu verbessern und in ihnen den Spass am Lesen zu wecken. We Love Reading begann in Jordanien und entwickelte sich zu einer sozialen Bewegung. Heute gibt es das Programm in 35 Ländern.

Im Rahmen von WLR können Jugendliche, Frauen und Männer ein Training absolvieren, das sie befähigt, an öffentlichen Orten ihrer Stadtteile regelmässig Lesungen für Kinder in deren Muttersprache abzuhalten. Bis heute wurden 3’460 Menschen entsprechend ausgebildet, 1‘570 WLR-Bibliotheken in ganz Jordanien gegründet und die Leben von mehr als 50‘000 Kindern bereichert. WLR hat landesweit mehr als 100’000 Lesungen organisiert sowie mehr als 300’000 Kinderbücher gedruckt und verteilt.

Rana Dajani erhält einen der zehn Klaus J. Jacobs Awards 2018 für soziale Innovation und gesellschaftliches Engagement. Mit dem Preisgeld von 100’000 CHF plant Rana Dajani, den Online-Kurs zur Gründung eines WLR-Programms in der eigenen Gemeinde mit der neuesten Technologie und aktuellsten pädagogischen Hilfsmitteln auszustatten und ihn in zusätzlichen Sprachen anzubieten.

 

Rana Dajani, Gründerin von We Love Reading.

„Lesen kann die verborgenen Potenziale von Kindern wecken und sie zu Wegbereitern des Wandels machen.”

 

Für das WLR-Programm ist keine Infrastruktur nötig, ein freiwilliger Helfer und ein paar Bücher genügen. Es kann schnell und kostengünstig umgesetzt werden und ist potenziell in der Lage, noch viel mehr Kinder auf der ganzen Welt zu erreichen. Die von WLR ausgewählten Bücher sind altersangemessen, inhaltlich neutral, thematisch für die Kinder interessant und in deren Muttersprache geschrieben. Neben der Leseförderung übernimmt WLR auch andere Funktionen: Das Programm motiviert Jugendliche und Frauen, innerhalb der Gemeinde Führungspositionen einzunehmen, fördert die Eigenverantwortung in Kindern und Gemeindemitgliedern und sensibilisiert durch das Vorlesen relevanter Geschichten für Gesundheits- und Umweltthemen.

Im Jahr 2018 vergibt die Jacobs Foundation zehn Preise an soziale Innovatoren und Wegbereiter des Wandels auf dem Gebiet der Kinder- und Jugendentwicklung. Jeder Preis ist mit 100’000 CHF dotiert. Die Preisträger bieten Lösungen für eine positive Kinder- und Jugendentwicklung an, die preisgünstig, nachhaltig und vor Ort leicht umsetzbar sind. Die zehn Gewinner wünschen sich sozialen Wandel und setzen sich dafür unermüdlich ein. Sie lassen ihren Worten Taten folgen.