Empowering African Youth

Boris Bulayev and his organization Educate! are reforming the secondary education in Africa to equip young people with the skills necessary to break the cycle of poverty. Educate! partners with governments in East Africa to integrate this practical skills-based model into the national education system.

Leadership, entrepreneurship, and workforce readiness are the cornerstones of the trainings Educate! provides in secondary schools: 175 schools in Rwanda and over 700 schools in Uganda, reaching over 42,000 students intensively and 530,000 more broadly.

One of the 2018 Klaus J. Jacobs Awards will go to Boris Bulayev Co-Founder and Executive Director of Educate! for his efforts to equip youth with key 21st century and employability skills. These skills help youth build confidence, discover their passion, and succeed in the challenging labor market they will face after school.

Co-Founder and Executive Director, Boris Bulayev.

“I am inspired by the power and potential of African youth to create change on a global level.” 

 

 

Educate! partners with governments in East Africa to integrate this practical skills-based model in the national education system. Through the program, youth learn skills like problem solving, critical thinking, teamwork, grit, conflict resolution, and entrepreneurship. These skills not only enrich the students’ personal development, but also ensure that no matter what challenges they face in life, they will be better able to create their own opportunities, overcome obstacles, and manage risk.

Educate!’s vision for 2024 is to measurably impact 1 million students, and reach 4 million students more broadly, across Africa each year. The 2018 Klaus J. Jacobs Award will provide them with the opportunity to invest in further learning, testing, and iteration.

In 2018, the Jacobs Foundation bestows 10 awards to social innovators and change makers in the field of child and youth development. Each award will come with an amount of  CHF 100’000. The recipients provide solutions for positive child and youth development at low cost, which are sustainable and can be easily implemented on the spot. What the ten awardees have in common is their wish for social change and their restless personal social engagement. They are beyond talking – they act.

Junge Afrikaner stärken

Boris Bulayev und seine Organisation Educate! verändern das Sekundarschulwesen in Afrika nachhaltig und geben jungen Leuten die nötigen Kompetenzen mit auf den Weg, um den Teufelskreis der Armut zu durchbrechen. Educate! arbeitet mit Regierungen in Ostafrika zusammen, um dieses praktische, kompetenzbasierte Modell in die nationalen Bildungssysteme zu integrieren.

Führungskompetenzen, Unternehmergeist und Vorbereitung auf den Arbeitsmarkt sind die wichtigsten Aspekte des Educate!-Programms für Sekundarschulen. In 175 Schulen in Ruanda und mehr als 700 Schulen in Uganda werden 530‘000 Schüler erreicht. Mit weiteren 42‘000 Schülern wird intensiv zusammengearbeitet.

Dieses Jahr geht ein Klaus J. Jacobs Award an Boris Bulayev und seine Organisation Educate! für die Vermittlung von Kompetenzen, die auf dem Arbeitsmarkt des 21. Jahrhunderts unerlässlich sind. Diese Fähigkeiten geben den jungen Leuten Selbstvertrauen und Orientierung, und erhöhen ihre Chancen auf dem schwierigen Arbeitsmarkt, mit dem sie nach der Schule konfrontiert werden.

 

Mitbegründer und Geschäftsführer Boris Bulayev.

„Mich inspiriert die Stärke und das Potential der afrikanischen Jugend, Wandel auf globaler Ebene zu bewirken.“

 

Educate! arbeitet mit Regierungen in Ostafrika zusammen, um dieses praktische, kompetenzbasierte Modell in die nationalen Bildungssysteme zu integrieren. Mit dem Programm lernen die jungen Leute, wie man Probleme löst, kritisch denkt, im Team arbeitet, Charakterstärke zeigt, mit Konflikten umgeht und unternehmerisch handelt. Diese Fähigkeiten wirken sich nicht nur positiv auf die persönliche Entwicklung der Schüler aus, sondern helfen ihnen auch dabei, in schwierigen Situationen Chancen zu sehen, Hürden zu nehmen und mit Risiken umzugehen.

Die Zielsetzung für 2024 lautet: Afrikaweit jedes Jahr bei 1 Million Schüler messbare Erfolge erzielen und weitere 4 Millionen ebenfalls erreichen. Mit dem Klaus J. Jacobs Award 2018 will Educate!  weitere Trainings, Tests und Untersuchungen durchführen.

Im Jahr 2018 vergibt die Jacobs Foundation zehn Preise an soziale Innovatoren und Wegbereiter des Wandels auf dem Gebiet der Kinder- und Jugendentwicklung. Jeder Preis ist mit 100’000 CHF dotiert. Die Preisträger bieten Lösungen für eine positive Kinder- und Jugendentwicklung an, die preisgünstig, nachhaltig und vor Ort leicht umsetzbar sind. Die zehn Gewinner wünschen sich sozialen Wandel und setzen sich dafür unermüdlich ein. Sie lassen ihren Worten Taten folgen.