Public Policy Fellowship

Early childhood is a critically important stage in life, since it is the time when the groundwork is laid for the further development of cognitive and social skills. If these skills are to develop fully, children need opportunities to benefit from high-quality early childhood education and care programs. Changes must be made in the political arena, the business community and society at large to ensure that such programs have a sustainable impact and reach all children. These changes should focus on the long term, and require constant and renewed effort.

The Jacobs Foundation awards scholarships to individuals who are seeking a career dedicated to achieving such change by supporting their study for a certificate of advanced studies (CAS) in Public Affairs and Lobbying. The CAS is jointly offered by Bern University of Applied Sciences and the School of Management in Fribourg (HSW-FR) and Neuchâtel (HEG Arc). Effectively representing the relevant interests requires a thorough understanding of political institutions and processes. This course of study equips students with the tools needed for their careers, and is intended for individuals who are interested in working at the interface of policymaking and business, whether in public communications, professional or business associations, public administration, policymaking or business.

Jacobs Foundation scholarship recipients are active in, or have demonstrated interest in, the field of early childhood education and care. Their aim is to use what they have learned in their studies to improve early childhood education and care in Switzerland at the policy, business or societal level. They automatically become active members of the Jacobs Network and promote the goals of the Foundation.

Interested parties should first register for the CAS program, then submit an essay explaining why they are interested in the Jacobs Foundation scholarship.

Duration: 2018 – 2019

Cost: 50’000 CHF

Jacobs Foundation
Cathrin Jerie
Seefeldquai 17
P.O Box
8034 Zürich

talent@jacobsfoundation.org

Public Policy Fellowship

Die frühe Kindheit ist entscheidend für das ganze Leben, denn in dieser Zeit werden wichtige Weichen für die weiterführende Entwicklung von kognitiven und sozialen Fähigkeiten gestellt. Für die volle Entfaltung dieser Fähigkeiten, sollen Kinder von qualitativ hochwertigen Angeboten frühkindlicher Bildung, Betreuung und Erziehung profitieren können. Damit diese Angebote nachhaltige Wirkung erzielen und alle Kinder erreichen braucht es Veränderungen in der Politik, in der Wirtschaft und in der Gesellschaft. Diese Veränderungen sind langfristig ausgerichtet und müssen stets vorangetrieben und neu angestossen werden.

Für Personen, welche sich beruflich für diese Veränderungen einsetzen möchten, vergibt die Jacobs Foundation Stipendien im CAS-Studiengang Public Affairs and Lobbying an der Berner Fachhochschule und den Hochschulen für Wirtschaft in Freiburg (HSW-FR) und in Neuenburg (HEG Arc). Um wirksam und effizient Interessen vertreten zu können, braucht es profunde Kenntnisse der politischen Institutionen und Prozesse. Der Studiengang vermittelt die entsprechenden Werkzeuge dafür und richtet sich an Verantwortliche, welche an der Schnittstelle von Politik und Wirtschaft wirken, sei es in der öffentlichen Kommunikation, in Berufs- und Wirtschaftsverbänden, in der öffentlichen Verwaltung, der Politik oder aus der Wirtschaftsbranche.

Die Stipendiaten der Jacobs Foundation sind im Bereich der frühkindlichen Bildung, Betreuung und Erziehung tätig oder haben ein nachgewiesenes Interesse daran. Sie wollen das im Studiengang erworbene Wissen nutzen, um auf der politischen, wirtschaftlichen oder gesellschaftlichen Ebene die frühkindliche Bildung, Betreuung und Erziehung in der Schweiz voranzubringen. Stipendiaten werden automatisch aktive Mitglieder im Jacobs Netzwerk und setzen sich für die Anliegen der Stiftung ein.

Interessierte Personen müssen sich zuerst für den CAS-Studiengang anmelden und können sich mit einem Motivationsschreiben auf das Stipendium der Jacobs Foundation bewerben. Aufgrund von mangelnden Anmeldungen findet der CAS-Studiengang 2018/2019 nicht statt.

Laufzeit: 2018 – 2020

Budget: 50’000 CHF

Jacobs Foundation
Cathrin Jerie
Seefeldquai 17
Postfach
8034 Zürich

talent@jacobsfoundation.org