Learning Minds

Brain development and cognition are guided and organized by cultural, social, emotional, and biological factors that contribute to individual variability in learning abilities and outcomes. These factors influence how much and how well children learn and are able to transfer their learning to new situations. We want to understand and embrace this variability in learning.  

The concepts of individualized and personalized learning and adaptive teaching have a long tradition in educational sciences and pedagogical psychology. Despite this long tradition, there is very little empirical evidence on how individualized learning and adaptive teaching can be implemented in schools, and under what conditions they are effective. Many educational settings fail to take into account individual differences and to foster children’s learning potential. This raises a key question: How is it possible to organize learning for large numbers of students while also responding to their diverse individual needs?  

Our aim 

We want to gain a better understanding of how heterogeneity and individual differences affect learning. We want to explore how these findings can be applied in practice, including by making smart use of educational technologies that offer new perspectives for both implementation and empirical investigation.   

With our focus on Learning Minds, we will combine rigorous research, social innovation, and entrepreneurship on a global scale. We will identify and nurture an international network of leading experts in child development and learning. We will foster ground-breaking collaboration, idea generation, and solution co-creation among individuals, partner organizations, and the Jacobs Foundation.  

The international recognition we have earned as a globally leading research funder in the field of education and child development offers us an invaluable opportunity for visibility, alignment, and joint value creation. We are taking advantage of this opportunity most notably by establishing the Marbach Summit on Learning, further developing the Klaus J. Jacobs Awards, and creating the Jacobs Foundation Circle of Experts on Learning. In these efforts, we are drawing on many years of experience in convening and supporting the most brilliant minds in the context of our Marbach Conferences, Research Fellowship Program and Young Scholar Programs.   

Gelgia Fetz
Program Lead
gelgia.fetz@jacobsfoundation.org

Sabine Gysi
Program Lead
sabine.gysi@jacobsfoundation.org

This website uses cookies. If you browse through our pages, you agree to our Terms of Use.

OK

Learning Minds

Die Entwicklung unseres Gehirns und unseres Wissens wird von kulturellen, sozialen, emotionalen und biologischen Faktoren bestimmt, die zu individuellen Unterschieden in der Lernfähigkeit und den Lernergebnissen beitragen. Sie beeinflussen, wie viel und wie gut Kinder lernen und wie gut sie das Gelernte auf neue Situationen übertragen können. Diese Unterschiede beim Lernen wollen wir besser verstehen und berücksichtigen.

Die Konzepte des individualisierten und personalisierten Lernens sowie des adaptiven Unterrichts haben in den Bildungswissenschaften und der pädagogischen Psychologie eine lange Tradition. Dennoch gibt es bisher nur sehr wenige empirisch belegte Erkenntnisse dazu, wie man individualisiertes Lernen und adaptiven Unterricht an Schulen umsetzen kann und unter welchen Voraussetzungen diese Konzepte wirkungsvoll sind. Viele Bildungseinrichtungen schaffen es nicht, auf individuelle Unterschiede einzugehen und Kinder umfassend zu fördern. Daher lautet eine zentrale Frage: Wie können das Lernen und der Unterricht für grosse Klassengrössen so ausgerichtet werden, dass gleichzeitig die individuellen Bedürfnisse der Kinder berücksichtigt werden?

Wir wollen ein besseres Verständnis dafür entwickeln, wie sich Vielfalt und individuelle Unterschiede auf das Lernen auswirken und wie man diese Erkenntnisse in der Praxis umsetzen kann. Dabei interessiert uns auch der Einsatz neuer Bildungstechnologien, die sowohl für die Anwendung in Schulen als auch für die empirische Forschung neue Möglichkeiten eröffnen.

Unser Ansatz

Mit einer Kombination aus exzellenter Forschung, sozialer Innovation und weltweitem Unternehmertum baut das Programm-Portfolio „Learning Minds“ die globale Forschungs- und Evidenzbasis aus und gestaltet die Zukunft von Lernen und Entwicklung mit. Beim Aufbau von Partnerschaften, Kooperationen und branchenübergreifenden Gruppen vertrauen wir auf unsere langjährige Erfahrung und die klügsten Köpfe. So können neue Ideen und Lösungen rund um das menschliche Lernen entwickelt werden. Gleichzeitig pflegen wir ein internationales Netzwerk führender Experten auf dem Gebiet der Entwicklung und des Lernens von Kindern.

Unser Programm-Portfolio “Learning Minds” stützt sich auf neueste Forschungserkenntnisse und ermöglicht globale und lokale Koalitionen rund um die wichtigsten Fragen der Kinder- und Jugendentwicklung. Das erreichen wir durch die folgenden Programme: die Jacobs Foundation Conference, die Klaus J. Jacobs Awards, das Jacobs Foundation Research Fellowship Program und das Jacobs Network.

Gelgia Fetz
Co-Lead Learning Minds
gelgia.fetz@jacobsfoundation.org

Laura Metzger
Co-Lead Learning Minds
laura.metzger@jacobsfoundation.org

Wir verwenden Cookies, um einen guten Webservice zu ermöglichen. Wenn Sie durch unsere Seiten surfen, erklären Sie sich mit unseren Nutzungsbedingungen einverstanden.

OK