Djigui – A Second Chance for Education in Burkina Faso

The word “djigui” means hope. All over the world, education holds the promise of hope for a better life. Yet even today, nearly 70 percent of Burkina Faso’s population is unable to read or write. A good three-quarters of children enter elementary school, but only half finish. Education is inadequate, and it fails to take into account the needs of the local job market. Many young people move to the cities or take a dangerous job working in an illegal gold mine.

Since 2013, the Djigui project has given children and young people between the ages of 9 and 20 a second chance at an education. Those who have completed little or no schooling are now able to acquire a basic education at a non-formal educational center. They can then either return to the formal school system or begin vocational training.

The program focuses on matching the interests and needs of young people with opportunities in the local job market.

The Djigui project has been supported by the Jacobs Foundation since its beginning, and it is implemented by HELVETAS Swiss Intercooperation in close cooperation with local authorities and the national ministries with responsibility for education.

Djigui – eine zweite Chance auf Bildung in Burkina Faso

Djigui heisst übersetzt Hoffnung. Die Hoffnung auf ein besseres Leben ist auf der ganzen Welt eng mit Bildung verbunden. Noch heute können in Burkina Faso knapp 70 Prozent der Bevölkerung weder lesen noch schreiben. Gut drei Viertel der Kinder werden zwar eingeschult, allerdings schliesst nur die Hälfte die Primarschule ab. Das Bildungsangebot ist mangelhaft und zielt an den Bedürfnissen des lokalen Arbeitsmarktes vorbei. Viele Jugendliche wandern in die Städte ab oder arbeiten im illegalen Goldbergbau unter gefährlichen Bedingungen.

Das Projekt Djigui bietet seit 2013 jungen Menschen zwischen 9 und 20 Jahren eine zweite Chance auf Schulbildung. Wer gar keine oder nur teilweise eine Schule besucht hat, kann in sogenannten non-formalen Bildungszentren seine schulische Grundausbildung nachholen. Dieses Fundament erlaubt es den Jugendlichen, entweder in das formale Schulsystem zurückzukehren oder eine berufliche Ausbildung anzugehen.

Der Fokus liegt darauf, eine Verbindung zwischen den Interessen und Bedürfnissen der jungen Menschen und den Möglichkeiten des lokalen Arbeitsmarktes herzustellen.

Seit Anbeginn von der Jacobs Foundation begleitet, wird das Projekt Djigui von HELVETAS Swiss Intercooperation in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den lokalen Behörden und den für Bildung zuständigen nationalen Ministerien umgesetzt.